Colorful Colorado # 11- A Moment in Time

in #photography7 years ago

Welcome to my Time Machine!



I never thought about how pictures provide a medium for us to peer back in time. We literally get to see something as it was whenever the photo was taken. This realization came to me when I was watching The Cosmos, and it intrigues me! Just as the stars and celestial bodies are merely images from another time (because it takes time for the light from these far off objects to reach us, we see them as they were when the light left them), photographs are too!


prettyred.jpg
A unique moment in time, captured forever



This photo especially reminds me of the time traveling capabilities of photography. With the depth of field and subtle vignette, it is almost as if the universe opened up a hole in space-time to peer unto this moment. No moment captured in time will ever be like this one, no matter how similar another moment is, this one is infinitely unique. If you think about it, it is also unique from the actual moment itself. It is more like a representation of the moment.



Have you ever thought of photography like this?! What a great technique humans have invented to become travelers of time and space. Led Zeppelin must've been referring to photography on their song Kashmir, right?



Anyways, I wanted to add a little bit of woke philosophy as apart of this #colorfulcolorado series today, to give you something to reflect on over the weekend (See what I did there?!?! Reflect?! Pictures?! I'm here all night, folks). Next time you look at a photo, think about the moment it captured. It's almost like it's own little universe! There was so much going on, and photography gives you a snapshot at that moment in time. As mentioned in previous installments, all photographs are my own, taken on my Panasonic Lumix G7 camera. These series of flower photos were captured at the Denver Botanic Gardens.



If you are interested in my other recent posts, here are the links to those for your convenience. I don't think you're going to find a more diverse list of postings elsewhere!

Live Jam Session Series!!!!!

In the Lab with Falseyedols: Episode 4 (feat. eLiMenCe)

Falseyedols Appearing on MSPWaves Radio!!!!!

The Main Event..... On MSP Waves Radio!

Falseyedols Blogs about the Education System!!

The State of Education- Part 3: Where Art Thou?



Finally, don't forget to show me some Steemit love with your much appreciated upvotes, resteems and follows! Hopefully by now I've convinced you of my superior quality and you are compelled to continuously visit this blog space. To say thank you, here is a brand new GIF since you made it to the bottom of the post ;)



Falseyedolshiresgreen.jpg

Sort:  

That's a beautiful photo - but I really loved your philosophy. Adding onto it, even if I looked at the photo at two different moments, even though the photo is the same, my perception of it will be different.

In a way... my brain represents a representation of the representation of the actual moment; and the brain's representation changes across times.

Whoa man you took it to another level!! Wow I never thought about it like that. Hmmmmm that is definitely something to think on. You are totally right though. Your perceptions do change over time, and there is so much that factors into our perceptions. Interesting thought. Thanks for blowing my mind a bit there @poetrybyjeremy! Glad to meet you, sir :)

well, I did graduate in both philosophy and psychology... so that's just my kind of thing!

Really good photo, I'd really liked it

Hey thanks for stopping by :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by falseyedols from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Good post. Hope I can read more your posts soon.

Thank you I try to stay consistent :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36