Mommy look, I am a snake!

in #photography5 years ago

I grew this one from one cutting that had just a tiny bit of stem and two leaves. It took about 2 years to be this size and get it to bloom twice a year. I actually never saw it blooming before..

Crassula Perforata


crassula perforata flowers 3.jpg

This little baby has a hard time with me. It happens that I forget to water it for few weeks and the beautiful fatty leaves start to look like raisins. It has amazing adaptation to harsh (me) conditions! All the water stored in those fatty leaves is used in those drought times (me again) and refilled as soon as I water it. It takes only few days to get back to the normal, plump look.

I also took some little cuttings from it that I planted outside on the balcony pots and they are doing equally good! Better than some other succulents that get sunburn. This one is just fine :)
Who would have thought that some plants can be so tough!

crassula perforata flowers 2.jpg

The flowers are super small, maybe 3mm across. But when all the stems start to bloom in the same time it looks quite nice.
Otherwise the are nothing special to me.

crassula perforata flowers 1.jpg

See how cute the leaves are? Very pleasant to the touch, thick and when exposed to more sun they get even darker purple!

crassula perforata leaves 5.jpg

Naturally the the longer stems pf the plant would bend and lay down on the grown. Each segment where the leaves grow from is able to grow roots, so it would just root down and start growing new offshoots.
I kind of like staked up like a little bush.
The two smaller plants I have outside are left alone and they do what they want. Slowly they start to hand down from the pot.

crassula perforata flowers 4.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/25, 1/500, ISO1000)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Beautiful macro and beautiful plant.
Something reminded of stones
DSC015691.jpg

Its the layers...
like in Shrek :D

Wow, spectacular gardening creation.

Thank you! It's an awesome plant :)

It's a beautiful plants, the photos are great.

/ᐠ.。.ᐟ\

Hello kitty :)

Those crassulas are pretty bullet-proof

Pretty much, yea :)



This article has been selected and voted by @omnesplantae Content Curator. You have received 3 OmnesPlantae Token (OP)
Visit the discord server for a 360 ° travel experience! https://discord.gg/zd7vFSz

Awesome! Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81