Hello my stinky friend - Orbea Variegata

in #photography5 years ago

I was waiting for this flower impatiently. Few weeks ago I saw the little bud growing and I was checking every few days to see if it already opened. Bu no... he was just rowing and growing.
I wasn't sure how big the flower will be since it is a new plant and it wasn't blooming before. But I thought it will be one of those super small and super stinky ones.

And finally, two days ago the oversized bud finally opened!

Orbea Variegata


Orbea Variegata flower 5.jpg

There is it! Orbea/Stapelia variegata also called Starfish Flower. I actually have two of those. One that I bought few years ago and never, ever bloomed (and I think it is supposed to look like this one) and this one here that I got as a tiny cutting last summer and now it is already blooming. The first one should be very ashamed!

Orbea Variegata flower 2.jpg

The flowers are so cool! And even though they stink like decomposing meat, they are worth growing. Just make sure they bloom in very ventilated place, or outside, or you don't have sensitive nose. It is really disgusting smell!
And this is the lovely, alien-like center responsible for the odor.

Orbea Variegata flower 3 macro center.jpg

It smells so bad I didn't even touch the petals to check the cool texture. Just in case the sell would stick to my hands...
But can you see the ripples? Looks like skin...

Orbea Variegata flower 4.jpg

Yea... I like it :)
I must like it since I have a few of those stinky ones. They all smell just the same - rotten flesh.
It attracts flies so my cat loves them too :)

Orbea Variegata flower 1.jpg

Orbea Variegata stem macro.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

This flower eats meat and does not brush its teeth. Therefore it smells from the mouth :-))))

This post had received 5.00% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Our website has lots of news and tutorials you can visit right now at www.steemitportugal.com

Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP



This article has been selected and voted by @omnesplantae Content Curator. You have received 3 OmnesPlantae Token (OP)
Visit the discord server for a 360 ° travel experience! https://discord.gg/zd7vFSz

Hi @ewkaw!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.607 which ranks you at #1890 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 91 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66