Will It Fire?

in #photography5 years ago

CF2937E1-0853-4300-8D7E-125D9CA5ABF3.jpeg

My uncle was visiting and he’s been clearing out his storage and knowing that I like photography, he brought me one of his old cameras. He said it doesn’t work and gave it to me so I could get use of the lens, if I just buy an adapter for it. Okay cool I’ll do that because I have no 50mm lens and this one seems pretty solid.

After thinking about it for a while and asking from a friend who knows quite a lot more about cameras than I do, came to the conclusion that there really is no reason why the camera shouldn’t work, or if it doesn’t, it’s most likely an easy fix. There was a battery inside, but luckily it wasn’t corroted, but I don’t have a replacement for it, or film, obviously. I’m popping by at the city tomorrow, and intend to find a battery and some film, so I could at least try to make it work with my very limited knowledge.

I wasn’t planning on getting into film photography, and I’ve actually said more than once that I will not do film because I’m so impatient that it’s not for me. But here I am, with a film camera on my lap and hoping I can get it to work. God damn it.

The Canon AE-1 was one of the most popular film cameras of its time, and photography enthusiasts still use it to this day.

Sort:  

Sweet camera...

I hope you can make it work.

I'll be waiting for your next update about it.

Have a nice day.

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m really hoping so too, even though I was so against going for film photography 😂😅

The challenge with film is you only get a certain number of exposures and you won't know whether they turned out until developed.

Back in the 80's, I used to take quite a lot of photos. Then I'd forget and leave the film in a camera for months. It was always exciting to get the film developed because I never had a clue of what photos I had taken on a given camera.

Good luck with the new camera!

I’m so shit with knowing how the image will turn out, even though I shoot mainly in full manual mode.

When I was snooping in dads old stuff, I found an old undeveloped film roll, probably from 30 years ago, I’m really hoping it van be salvaged.

No one’s more excited to hear you give film a shot than I am.

Oh god, I’m already feeling the pressure, and I don’t even know if I can get the camera to work 😝

I’m excited to see what images come from this. I was actually planning on picking up this exact model to get into film photography but I haven’t fully committed.

I wasn’t going to but universe decided to throw me a film camera. Even if this doesn’t work, I might be interested enough to buy one that works 😁 Is your experiense with film strictly limited to Instax polaroids too?

Yup! LOL but I have a friend that has encouraged me to give it a shot.

I think we both have horrible friends that just want us to torture ourselves. Who the hell in their right mind wants to get into film photography, it's unsure, expensive and slow!

I have the same camera, film is very fun if you have the patience for manual focusing. If you have any questions about film you’re welcome to ask me.

I have zero patience but what can I do, I love photography and want to learn more 😅

That Canon would be perfect as an object for one of your nude shots :)

Someone at the film store might be very happy when I get them developed 😂😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39