First American Robins of the Season (Original Photos)

in #photography7 years ago

I have a tree in my backyard that attracts American Robins. On 12 February 2017 I observed my first American Robins of 2017.


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/400 sec; ISO 1600; 300mm

The Tree

I am not sure what the name of this berry bearing tree is, but American Robins love it in the late winter when they return.

When the American Robins leave this area in the fall, the berries are mostly orange in color.


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/5.6; 1/250 sec; ISO 125; 135mm

Over the long winter months the berries turn dark red as they ripen.


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/400 sec; ISO 1250; 300mm

Just in time for the first American Robins to arrive.

American Robin

The following range map from All About Birds.

According to the range map you can see American Robin year-round in this area of eastern Nebraska. While I have seen an American Robin every month of the year while I have been here over the years. The American Robins usually leave before the first snow and return with the warm south winds in the late winter.

The following pictures were taken 12 February 2017 in eastern Nebraska.


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/400 sec; ISO 1600; 300mm


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/5.6; 1/160 sec; ISO 400; 300mm


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/400 sec; ISO 2000; 300mm


Original Photo
Canon EOS 7D; f/7.1; 1/400 sec; ISO 1600; 300mm

...

The Robins are here. Spring can't be that far off!

Use of Photographs

I used the SteemIt icon in my photo credit to indicate these photographs were originally posted on SteemIt.
The photographs in this post are free to be used by anyone as long as the photo credit is left on the photograph.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, share, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

With those robins back, your tree will lose its fruit in no time, lol. It's nice that your tree is there for them! Especially if the ground is frozen yet at all. Happy early spring! I guess we can call it that, now that your Robins are back! : )

I have one tree in my backyard and one tree in my front yard. There are plenty of berries to go around.

I do hope that they eat all the berries. The berries are a mess when they fall to the ground :)

Right now eastern Nebraska is in a warm spell. There will be at least a few more cold spells before it really starts warming up. I expect at least on more good snowfall before spring too.

I just hope my Magnolia trees do not bloom too early. Last year they bloomed during an extended warm spell just to be frozen during the last cold snap.

Steem on,
Mike

I hope your birds are good and hungry, then, and clean out all your stock of berries from those trees, lol. Good luck with your magnolia, too. They can sure get surprised, just like you said. Here's to a smooth spring transition!

amazing photos)

Thank you!!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.02 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59