What are you going to become ?

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever seen a catterpillar so cute like this?.

This was his cousin. I found him on a shrub just beside the door of the strawberry greenhouse.

I plucked a leaf from my baby orange tree plant in the greenhouse to scoop him up with it. He curled himself up in defense ... at least he won't be crawling.

I was wrong .. that guy just uncurled and started crawling fast.

I dropped the leaf in fear of brushing my hands on those bristles. My cousins and I had been stung by those when we were young - back in the Philippines. Your skin grow rashes that itch like that of a giant mosquito bites. Grandnana told us to rub our long hair on the rashes to ease the itch and it does work. This guy's bristle looks nastier than the ones we have in the tropics. He fell on the pebbles and curled himself up again.

He uncurled a bit later, crawled between the bushes of these flowers and vanished.

Weeks later , his cousin showed up. I found him in the strawberry greenhouse.

Worried he might munch on the strawberries, baby avocado trees and orange plants in there, I
decided to pluck one leaf from the tallest of my orange shrub and look what he just did.

"Is that a dagger little fellow? Are you pointing that pink dagger on me now?"

I tried putting him on one of those Budleja leaves and took some more pics and he began posing for me.

Ha, ha what a natural!

But those Budleja leaves happen to be pointing downwards that he fell on the pavement when he crawled towards its tip.

"Poor lil' fellow, don't cry. Let me help you get up."

I tried picking him up but he just threatened me with that dagger on his rear again.

"Seriously? Lil' guy? It doesn't work .. you're too cute to be feared!".

I put him back on the same leaf and finally, he just crawled up the bushy part. That'll keep him safe from the birds. I wonder what those two are going to be. Would they be a friend or a pest? If you happen to know, please ~ ... do tell me.

And I thank you already!

Have a great weekend everyone!

I took all of these pictures with a Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.

Sort:  

I suspect none of the people of upvoted so far are ladies. :-)

Hey, I'm a lady!

Yay....second lady after 27 votes. and a garden lady no less.
I've no green fingers but have 2 pots of plant outside my home. So, Following you and hope to learn a thing or 2.

STATS update: 2/25 ==> 7.4% (up from 4) of the people are ladies who are not scared of worms or caterpillars. :-).
You increase the percentage by more than 3 points.

@ace108 hahaha .. I sure missed a whole caterpillar here so it seems...
okay , you men won !

Well, that percentage has to be weighted by the Steemit demographics. Given the high male:female ratio here on Steemit, it might turn out that men are more afraid of the caterpillars than women! : )

If you put it that way, the percentage of people who didn't vote... then whoa.... that many percentage of men are afraid of caterpillars.

I"m just glad that neither of us are afraid of the caterpillars, @ace108! : )

@ace108 probably not - this could give them the creeps - my students scream with just taking a look at the pic but he's actually very cute and fragile. It's those bristles that make him look scary but I can't blame him being so soft underneath dis lil' guy needs them. I just wonder what that would be -

Look at that first photo! That little guy is cute as a button! But then, even though I'm a woman, I'm not often called a lady, haha.

It does look a bit like "Caterpie" if you know your pokemons. and....
Yay....first lady admitted like this after 25 votes. So, 1/25 ==> 4% of the people are ladies who are not scared of worms or caterpillars. :-)

@ace108 haha, I didn't know that it resembles Caterpie hmmm.. I'll take a look ..

Caterpie is not hairy but the distinct eyes are there. From a search via Google:

Caterpie is not hairy but the distinct eyes are there. From a search via Google:

And don't forget, it was a woman who got close enough to these caterpillars to actually take their picture! : )

@haphazard-hstead Yeah! WOMEN POWER! hahahahahah
raise the roof!
@ace108 caterpie looks more of the caterpillar @jamtaylor and @runrudy actually posted, the same day.. It must be Caterpie day that Friday hahaha

That would be funny, @ace108 and @englishtchrivy -- in addition to the internet having a Caturday every Saturday, now we can have a Caterpie-day on Fridays, featuring all the caterpillars. : )

@haphazard-hstead we keep bumping on that tag don't we? haha ... yes, he is so cute but I couldn't dare touch him!

But you got close enough to get those great pictures!

Look at those guys

What a weird little creature!

no... just a normal catterpillar hahaha :D

@jamtaylor .. is this sort of article good for macro?
not necessarily this one?

Something like this, with only one picture and a few sentences, could be a 'behind the photo'. I'd want to pick a particularly unusual or interesting photo and story for that.

@jamtaylor, got it - sighs .. I just saw your reply
maybe my newly published butterfly post up there was more of that actually?

Nice photos, englishtchrivy :-)

Thank you very much @gardenlady :)

To all 27 souls who up voted this post and everyone who posted a comment, thank you all very much. Was away for today and couldn't reply soon! Have a great weekend ya all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64063.06
ETH 3144.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55