Behind the Scenes: Making a Stop Motion Music VideosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Behind the Scenes with Director Drew Russ


August Burns Red "Identity"


For August Burns Red’s Video for “Identity” I set quite an ambitious plan. The video would be a mixed media collage piece that set the band in a cartoon-like shipwrecked scenario. Here is the full video for reference:


The entire video was put together using Adobe After Effects, but I was adamant on all of the textures come from hand drawn watercolors.

The basic workflow was to instruct the main illustrator the scenes to draw, print them out to scale, use a rigged light box to paint water color textures that would fit the shapes, then scan everything back in and clean it up in Photoshop.


IMG_0530.JPG
Lots of Paper


IMG_0558.JPG


IMG_0542.JPG
Homemade light box


IMG_0559.JPG


IMG_0606.JPG
Textures


IMG_0607.JPG
Backgrounds


IMG_0767.JPG


I worked with several artists and animators to create the whole video, but for this part, I will focus on the guitar solo (I could write pages about this video). I loved the surf-rock inspiration of the guitar solo, so I wanted to make the solo really special.

This workflow was slightly different. I took the isolated images of the guitar player from the green screen, added a threshold filter to make it monochrome, and then printed each (numbered) frame of the sequence onto watercolor paper to be modified. I chose ink-jet printer ink since it would dissolve and flow with the watercolor.


IMG_0721.JPG


Then, I handed off the papers (around 600 frames) to my friend Brian to paint, scribble, and scratch on the images of the guitar player. After he was done with those modifications, I scanned each image back into Photoshop, cleaned up the edged, stabilized the frames, and then inserted the guitar player into the scene in After Effects.

The following photos were taken on 35mm Fuji film


01540036.jpg


01540035.jpg


01540034.jpg


01540037.jpg


01540038.jpg


01540039.jpg


01540025.jpg
JD Drawing waves


01540026.jpg
Brian Selfie


01540033.jpg
Bonus Izzy


I love how this video came out (and it was nominated for Alternative Press’s video of the year), but in hindsight took a bit too long, took up most my kitchen and dining room, I got no sleep, and it drove me crazy trying to make. Was it worth it? I guess that’s up to you.


Follow Me + Photography + Film + Creative
Sort:  

very nice to see creativity come to life, resteemed and voted

Congratulations @dxxxr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great job! The final video looks amazing. The battling with the sharks scene using the trident was really well done. How long did it take to complete the video?

Thanks! It took 3-4 months

Love these process photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66397.79
ETH 3460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61