The shot that changed my life...

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Over the years, I think I've taken well over 100,000 photos. These days, it's easy to get up into those numbers with 7-frames-per-second DSLRs and a smartphone attached to our hips at all times. But looking back at it all, I think there's one photo in particular that changed photography from a fun hobby to a serious passion.

Before this photo, I was an occasional photographer with a point and shoot. I liked snapping photos but I was never interested in making money. I just liked documenting things for the sake of remembering and didn't give it too much thought. This was the era in which point and shoots were just starting to get as good as film cameras. I wasn't too invested in getting better as I thought using auto mode was good enough. I didn't think that I could really take a good shot.

One day, I saw a sale on a Canon Rebel DSLR that was too good to pass up. Being an engineer, I appreciated and enjoyed playing with good gear, so I decided to experiment and invest in a better camera to see how much better it was. I bought it, used it (once again, in auto mode) and thought it was pretty neat - nothing more.

Then I remember in 2005 a certain week in November where there was fog that enveloped the city continuously for numerous days. Driving was slow as it was a soupy, dense kind of fog where not much light got through to the ground. I was curious to see what things looked like above the fog, so I grabbed my camera and tripod one evening when I was bored and drove up Burnaby Mountain to a mountaintop park.

It was an ethereal moment. A "holy crap" moment. This is a "moment I'll never forget" moment.

It literally looked like I was in heaven. I remember my jaw dropping as I saw the sun set and twilight appear. I set up my camera on my tripod and fired away. It was epic. There were other people there in the park too, all silent, enjoying the serenity before them.

I got home, loaded the images on the computer and saw how wonderful the images looked, even though they were all shot using a kit lens. I was picked the best one and sent it to friends and family. They loved it and it made me proud. It made me realize I was capable of producing great images and fed my desire to produce more. From that point on, I put in way more effort in learning the tools of the trade. I researched info online, I signed up for classes and I started hanging out with fellow photographers. My craft only improved from there. The image was the catalyst that jump started my life in photography.

Fog 079.jpg

Do any of you have a shot that changed your photography? Let me know in the comments below!

All images were photographed and are owned by me. Please UPVOTE or RESTEEM if you like this content to support future posts. Thank you for reading!

- Duran

Sort:  

Wow this is an amazing post. I love your writing style, and that shot is truly epic.

I really enjoyed this post. Thanks for sharing. Please keep up the good work. It can be hard to get going in Steemit, but I am confident if you keep putting in effort, and providing quality content like this, you will be a big deal.

#followed
#upvoted
#resteemed

Thanks brother. I love your words of encouragement. Hopefully I’ll be able to get more traction soon. I have a lot to share and discuss! Thanks for resteeming!

Very impressive for a first DSLR shot, well done! It's pretty awesome to have that one shot that changed your outlook on things, I think every photographer has a rough moment, but not always a particular shot!

Thanks! I think I've had a lot of "milestone" shots along my photographic career, but this one is the one that really sealed the deal. As I take more photos, these special shots come less often, but when they do, they impact me in so many ways.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 12:09:01
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I barely stopped myself from scrolling down to see it before I read on. And I'm glad I managed to read your post first. But when I saw the photo I just become speechless. Just amazing.

I didn't have the one-shot, which changed my life. I still try to make the best photo with what I have. Usually I have my phone with me. But I think I will definitely start to cary my camera around. :)

Thank you! It was truly a special moment. I wish I could go back.

These days, phones have great photo quality and you can even shoot in RAW and post-process. So having a phone is a good start! These guys (Mango Street Labs) do great tutorials on getting great shots with just your phone:



I should carry my DSLR more often though. I see so many awesome shots on the way to work and in my everyday nature walks.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @duranc to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67692.01
ETH 3734.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69