A Photo Tribute to my Family Home: The Lake

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

The past few days have been a bit difficult as we help my mom prepare the family home which is being listed for sale on April 27th.

One of my tasks has been to go through pictures I've taken in the past year and send them to the Realtor, so as I gather them I am going to share them with you.


005-01.jpeg


014-01.jpeg


015-02.jpeg


015-03.jpeg


2017-05-24 06.30.48.jpg


2017-05-24 06.31.01.jpg


2017-05-24 06.31.42.jpg


2017-06-19 22.44.05.jpg


2017-06-21 00.06.35.jpg


2017-06-21 03.40.34.jpg


2017-08-22 22.26.49.jpg


2017-08-22 22.40.17.jpg


2017-08-22 22.53.29.jpg


2017-08-22 22.57.38.jpg


2017-08-22 23.04.23.jpg


2017-08-23 22.53.52.jpg

Stay tuned for more :)



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @sircork, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  

These large changes in life are so very hard. Particularly when combined with people and place. I know how much the lake and the house mean to you, so my thoughts go out to you. Though I suppose in time, home will be where Mom is.
(That lake has some serious chop too. Fun in the pedalboat, I'm sure).

Thank you :) And absolutely, super fun in the pedalboat- actually there are times when the chop in this lake is too much for any boat, it can be almost ocean like.

I guess I thought momma dreemit would always live on the lake, and that you would always get to visit the familiar coves. The photos are bittersweet for me to look at, but I know everything is meant to change in time. :Hugs:

You and me both...although I will still get to visit the coves, particularly the stone building from 'dreemit's world' since that's actually part of the state park, everything to the right of their house is in fact, four miles of woods on the top and beach on the bottom before hitting Sampson park. Thanks for reminding me it's not all going to be lost, that gave me a lift :)

Yeh that sounds like it would be a bit hard. Mumma dreemit downsizing?

goatsig

She is. I wish I was in a position to buy it, keep it in the family, but it will likely be a couple years before I could. And I don't want to selfishly hope it doesn't sell for that long (or at least I'm trying not to selfishly want that ;)

LoL awww I understand, I'd be gutted if my parents decided to downsize or sell up and move over to where I am (they won't though, and my sister who inherits our family home will be rattling around there by herself probably when the time comes).

Is it also too expensive to rent from her?

goatsig

Unfortunately yeah, since we're still paying off our own house, hopefully we'll have it paid off in the next eighteen months, but until then our hands are tied.

Ahh I didn't realise you were paying off your own house too, yeh that would definitely make it harder :<

goatsig

How could anyone look at those pics and not want to live there?

:( I know. It's been a weepy couple of days, mixed with laughter though, since my brother is with us. Mom doesn't have internet, I just came back to my house to bring Howie some food (he's been working his ass off in the vineyards trying to finish trimming before the buds pop)

Cherish those last few days together there (I know you will) xx

Oh, she's not leaving until it sells, so unless someone buys it right after it's listed, which could happen I know, then it should be more than a few days ;)

Ahh shoot! I even missed the listing date! Where is Mama Dreemit going to live now? It must be hard giving away the old home, but it's for the best.. It's hard to maintain it, but at least you'll always have the memories. I remember the wild waves crashing against the wooden port. That time when they're trying to get the boat out of the water :')

There is a complex made up of small ranch homes just up the road that she intends to move into. They're still plenty big enough for her to have company, but much more manageable- plus she'll be renting, so not responsible for any repairs which is good.

I will still have the stone fort! That's not on their actual property, it's on state park land, so I have nice private little place I can go to. Well mostly private, some teenagers have discovered it in recent years ;)

gorgeous pictures , there must hold dear memories , like all pictures do x

nice photos @dreemit.....any sneakpeek on the next contest? lol

Thanks :) And nope, too much going on right now, probably won't happen for a couple weeks.

Amazing... wonderfull photo scenery. Beautiful sky and very nice ocean. Great travel @dreemit

Wonderful photography💜 the sky image on the water makes the photos amazing💜 Thanks sir @dreemit for sharing your memorable moments with us.

It's really beautiful, wonderful photos.
the scenery is very beautiful and soothing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65628.71
ETH 2669.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86