Supermoons and the Year of the Horse

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

In August 2014, the Chinese Year of the Horse, I went out to photograph a full supermoon, but ended up face to face with something more interesting.

supermoon in the year of the horse

I was snapping away at the big moon rising over the trees when my neighbors horse came galloping over to see what I was up to. I had just enough time to pop-up the flash and try to get my settings such that I could shine some light on his face, without blowing out the bright moon beyond. I knew after the shutter clicked that this was a unique moment captured, and this is still one of my favorite photos that I've ever taken.

Sadly the horse, a gallant lipizzaner stallion, died last year. Though he was 26 years old in this photo and lived a pretty good life.

In honor of this weeks full moon, here are few more favorite big moon risings from that fateful evening and around the Flemish countryside.

supermoon-aug2014-8931135a9.jpg

horses and moon

moon over Flanders

big moon rising
.
.
.
.
.
For more photos from Belgium and around the world follow @dreamstream

Sort:  

That first photo is stunning! No wonder why it's one of your favorites! His curious face is so expressive it makes me instantly like him :)

thanks! he was a friendly neighbor and is missed

AMAZING composition in the first shot!

To repeat, nice compositions in these shots, especially the 1st, and 2nd to last.

thanks yogi.artist

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67789.28
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72