Blood moon over BelgiumsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

full-moon-oct-2016-193d41.jpg

This weekend kicks off the first of three supermoons in the next three months.

I set out to the countryside just outside of Brussels in search of a good vantage point to catch the moon coming up on the horizon.

I almost missed it as there were some thin clouds, but then saw this gargantuan pink orb looming low in the sky. Soon it broke out above the trees casting a breathtaking and surreal orange pink glow.

My dogs kept busy digging holes. This is also a hunters moon. I suppose they were heeding the call.

full-moon-oct-2016-202999.jpg

This one was just before the clouds broke. I was shooting the big moon shots at 400mm (640mm on Canon SLR with 1.6x crop).

full-moon-oct-2016-3107e6.jpg

To give a sense of scale, this is what the same scene looks like wide-angle at the equivalent of 28mm. You can see that little white hut from previous shots as a tiny white spec to the left of the moon in the next photo.

full-moon-oct-2016-4f9ea6.jpg

I spied a flock of geese coming close and was holding out for a dramatic pass-over in front of the moon, but they went a little wide. I still really like this one.

full-moon-oct-2016-5a635c.jpg

Because sunset and moonrise were fairly close in time, the sky had not yet gotten completely dark which helped with the dynamic range of these pictures. This was one of my last ones before driving back home, after spying the moon next to an evergreen in my rearview mirror.

full-moon-oct-2016-68d51d.jpg

Hope you enjoyed these supermoon pics. Let me know what you think in the comments and please -

Check out more of my favorite supermoon photography.

Sort:  

I love these! I haven't gotten good at moon shots yet. Your last photo here with the dark tree looks like one I attempted, except that yours is what mine wanted to be. I think the one with the birds is my favorite, though.

Thanks Paul, the camera and lens definitely help on these.

Absolutely gorgeous pics. I love the moon, especially when it's a super moon; huge and red hanging in the sky like an ornament.

It was really incredible to experience.

Wonderful photos. There are many myths surrounding blood moons, one of which is about bleeding in pregnancy and problematic births. Coincidentally (or not, who knows?) last year my baby was born 2 months early after my placenta hemorrhaged, at the time of the reddest blood moon I've ever seen! Thankfully he is okay, but scary times, and I'll never forget the look of that moon!

Thanks. Glad to hear your baby is OK.

Some myths are probably a lot more grounded in reality than most people would think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60045.81
ETH 2420.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43