You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Beautiful Valentine's Day Dinner with Family (Also the #chickenbitches struck again!)

in #photography6 years ago

I feel like I haven't 'talked' with you in awhile and what a great way to catch up being a fly on the wall of this happy family dinner party. How wonderful that @marionbowes did this. I love the china and those cups are adorable. I also LOVE that ceramic bird, so the type of thing I'd have on a shelf in my studio, being obsessed with animals.

That chili looked so good. I'm eating it virtually right now ;)

I say, I love the colour of the kitchen cabinetry.

Oh, Joey Cat looks so like our Puss.

The egg in the grill is priceless. I've never let my chickens free range long enough to see if they would lay outside of their house, I am sure they would have, but thanks to Mr. Fox they were banned to their run, so I'll never know.

I am lucky with my MIL as well, as we are close and she is a sweetie. I only get to see her part of the year, as she spends the Winter in Florida (I don't blame her)

Well, it was lovely catching up and it's so nice to see a happy family celebration of Valentines day. @winstonalden and I have never celebrated it. I'm not one for things on days that we are 'told' to celebrate (The rebel in me maybe?) And afer I owend a flower shop for a few years I grew to dread Valentines day as that day and Mother's day was the Christmas rush for flowershop owners . And you'd think people would be happy getting flowers but you'd be wrong because the amount of complaints and frustrated people I had to deal with, oh well, best not to dwell on that. Let's just say I'd never own a service/retail business again. But I digress...

Happy Valentines Day (early) and it was nice sharing this moment with your family as always.

Sort:  

Ha. I am reading this since nothing is private and in some small way its the rebel in me. I think that knowing how Lyndsay does not do it, I try to find a way to keep celebrating each occasion, without being commercialized, since I hate that as well. But more to show mostly the kids, that we can have fun, be playful and get together and share a meal without going huge on $$$ or treats. Hence the cups, which they took home. I love to cook as well and its a little easier with a crowd or two. Alot of my celebration creativity comes from a European heritage which was big on that type of thing. However, it was never commercialized but rather a reason to share your food and your wine and enjoy your day and your friends and family. It seems to me that North Americans at large, except for a few just Live to Work, where as Europeans tend to Work to Live. In Germany for example where my family is from they make a festival out of everything. When the Peonies bloom and when the wine is ready and when they harvest a potato. Every town everywhere has a reason to get together and be grateful and joyous. You will never have to look to hard to find a festival. So I suppose this is why I am steeped in tradition to show my grandchildren. P.S. I do believe @lyndsaybowes and @hendrix22 have fun too. She certainly takes a lot of pics.

Awwww, hiiiiiii Donna, hehehe, would you believe you were a topic of discussion last night? Well, just about how much you are ADORED!! You and Winston both xoxoxo We loves you!!!!

I am a rebel in the same way! That's why it's always welcome when Marion puts on for the special occasions because it's not something I do, yet it will sure create a lot of special memories for the boys and us big kids too xoxoxo

I bet you were so busy during the V day season, I could only freekin imagine the haste!! And seriously...people are such complainers about everything...I've never been happier just being a stay at home Mom, away from society and all their bullshit!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84