Anstruther – Fish And Chips - Scotland – Lighthouse – Whiteiswhite - ArchitecturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Anstruther – Scotland – Lighthouse – Whiteiswhite - Architecture

I love to take pictures of lighthouses. For some reason, they always fascinate me. Perhaps it's because I grew up in a small fishing town in Scotland, and the two lighthouses were central to life there. When the light from the two lined up as seen from the Moray Firth, then the fishing boats had a safe channel between the dangerous rocks for entering the harbor. Despite that, I saw more than a couple of boats shipwrecked on the rocks – blown off course by a strong gale force wind.

I photographed this white lighthouse at the harbor at Anstruther (pronounced Inester) while on a trip back to Scotland a few years ago. It was once a thriving fishing port, but like most of Scotland's seaside towns, it has reinvented itself as a vacation destination.

130816-3323.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

If ever you visit Anstruther on the south east coast of Scotland, be sure to stop by the [Anstruther Fish Bar](http://www.anstrutherfishbar.co.uk/, which serves the best fish and chips in Scotland! Read the link to find out more about the Anstruther Fish Bar and its famous visitors. Be prepared to line up for 20 minutes to half an hour your fish and chips, but it is definitely well worth the wait!

130816-3307.jpg
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.

The theme for Friday's White Is White Challenge is Architecture.

Camera Used: Canon EOS 5D Mark II
Lens: EF28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
Software: Adobe Photoshop® and Adobe Camera Raw

The explanation and rules for the challenge can be found in this post

Here are my other posts in the challenge:

Thursday 1 – Food and Drink
Friday 1 – Architecture – also Rules Page
Saturday 1 - Water In Nature
Sunday 2 - Anything Goes
Monday 2 – White On White
Tuesday 2 - Animals
Wednesday 2 - Flowers
Thursday 2 - Food and Drink
Friday 2- Architecture
Saturday 2 - Water In Nature
Sunday 3 - Anything Goes
Monday 3 – White On White
Tuesday 3 - Animals
Wednesday 3 - Flowers
Thursday 3 - Food and Drink
Friday 3 - Architecture
Saturday 3 - Water In Nature
Sunday 4 - Anything Goes
Monday 4 – White On White
Tuesday 4 - Animals
Wednesday 4 - Flowers
Thursday 4 - Food and Drink

Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.

To find my photography and designs on Steemit, please search on #dianemacphoto and to check out my art prints and stock images, please visit my website.

Sort:  

Nice...following you for more.
Please visit my profile hope you will like my photography ...@saan

Hi, @dmcamera
The lighthouse and the coastal landscape are very beautiful.
I am now on the island, but in his heart, that is, more leafy and less sea.
I leave a big greeting and happy afternoon.

Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to comment. Yes, it is a beautiful area of Scotland too.

I would love to try the fish n chips there!!!

I'm not even a fish and chips fan, but I must say I really enjoyed my meal there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83