Blue moon & lunar eclipse 31/01/2018

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Blue moon & lunar eclipse 31/01/2018

The last 2 years I have been consistently photographing the full moon

September 2017 Full Moon from Sanur Beach Club

I started my planning tonight and that gave me the idea to write about it.
This is my process for capturing great images of the full moon
Step 1. A few days before the full moon I go to https://www.timeanddate.com/moon/indonesia/denpasar (you will need to change Denpasar for your city)

Step 2.Check out the time of the moonrise on the days around the full moon
This is what you will see
Important information is the column moonrise 72 degrees and the time 18.36.

Step 3. https://www.timeanddate.com/eclipse/in/indonesia/denpasar you also find out any solar storms or in this case we will have a Lunar Eclipse, thats gives us another opportunity for long exposure latter on that night.

Step 4. Now I go for a walk and try to find foreground while looking in the 72 degree direction.

Step 5.Practice on the moon a few nights before making sure you are happy its been a month since the last full moon and I forget what I did:-) This was the best video I watched when I was learning how to get a good image of the moon



Step 6.Get to your location and set up your tripod 30 minutes or so before the moonrise I go earlier and catch golden hour and just chill out:-)

Spot the real Moon

Finally share your images and tag me in your blog:-)
This image is gimped but it did look spectacular December's full moon



I am genuinely excited when you comment or use my photography or in this case idea in any way.



Sort:  

I am so happy you posted this, my wife is going to be excited about the blue moon super moon lunar eclipse. I love your photography, just took a scan back through some of your earlier pictures. Happy to see you writing a more detailed post. I for one would always love to hear more about each picture and how you took the shot :) This is a great post.

Cheers - Carl

Wow youve made my day Carl! My plan is to post in lots of contests for the whole of January and then be more focused on quality from February onwards

Hi Carl, I didnt get a single picture due to bad weather, did you? Cheers David

Same story here, unfortunately. Couldn't see the moon at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60699.16
ETH 2352.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52