Snoop Short Film Cinematography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

f7d21067-5109-4a93-8faf-16b7da14dc01.jpeg


Last weekend I had the opportunity to photograph my first short film for someone other than myself. This was the first scene we shot.

I was lucky to have the sun in just the right position to take advantage of some FX spray that creates a haze in the atmosphere to reveal the sunlight’s beams as they cut through the kitchen. In order to expose our actor’s face here at her end mark I added a 150 watt halogen bulb on a dimmer inside the refrigerator. I wanted to leave her very close to a silhouette to emphasize the atmosphere and lived in quality of the space. I wanted it to feel real and natural but with a touch of heightened dreaminess. I think this shot achieves those goals.

CAMERA: Sony FS7 / S-LOG 3 / Cine EL
LENS: Apogee 28mm
F-STOP: F/8 / 11 split

I’m a complete amateur when it comes to cinematography, and although I was also co-directing - my primary responsibility was lighting. The shoot was very difficult due to our overly ambitious timetable, but I think we achieved some interesting compositions and captured Los Angeles in a way that highlights its beauty and romance instead of the gritty, concrete jungle it can sometimes be.

More to come...


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Great job. Enjoy the look of the sunbeams. Organic and dreamy. Makes me think of some super cool HGTV moment.

HGTV!?!?! Oh, man. That was not what I was going for! ;) Thank you for the compliment and for having a look.

Not saying HGTV would have a setup like this in a million years. Just saying the scene makes me think of HGTV. The Property Brothers live in LA. Think there's a new Flip or Flop as well.

Ha! Thanks. I appreciate it.

Nice work! I love the light, it's beautiful!

I’m loving the lighting in both of the shots.

Thank you! We were lucky to have the perfect angle of sunlight, so that helped. :)

Yeah that spray is very effective.

@distantsignal You have received a random upvote from @looktothefuture because this post did not use any bidbots.

If you use the the #nobidbot tag as one of your five tags on future posts, you may be selected for a random upvote from @transparencybot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81