My First attempt to add value to Steemit: The Mighty HimalayassteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Moonscape:
9.2.JPG

Hello Friends,

So, it’s been nine days since I wrote my intro post and was thinking how to contribute next, remember my apprehension about writing things (those who read my Intro post – Here ). I’m certain there are a lot of people on this platform who joined but are clueless/hesitant to write something, my suggestion to you, start reading, there are a lot of inspiring posts to read on this platform which really makes Steemit so unique. I stumbled upon these two posts by @timcliff & @donkeypong today;

https://steemit.com/steemit/@timcliff/you-should-join-steemit-here-is-why
https://steemit.com/steemit/@donkeypong/reflections-and-tips-for-international-steemit-members-and-growth-communities

and here I’m, writing again. Both these posts gave me a different perspective about Steemit & myself especially this piece by @donkeypong:
“I would like to know more about your life and what makes it unique or interesting. You mind find yourself boring. After seeing posts about others’ colorful round-the-world adventures, you might think that you have not done anything as interesting. But you ARE interesting.
I want to learn more about your country, your city, your culture, your holidays, your family, your parents and siblings and relatives, and your spouse or significant other, plus your children if you have any.
Also, I would love to read posts about your favorite teacher or one thing you learned in school that you will never forget.
What do you eat for breakfast and how is it different from what I eat? Where does the food come from? Are there interesting markets or farms nearby?
After breakfast, what do you do next? If you go to a job or a school, what kind of transportation do you take to get there? What do you see along the way? What does the land look like and what do the buildings look like near your home? If you have a camera on your phone, take a picture along the way and tell us about it. Or draw one. Or describe it in words.”

This instantly rang a bell in my mind, there’s so much I can share, my Bio reads, “Traveler, Foodie, Photography Enthusiast & a Hibernated Biker” and that’s exactly what I’m going to write about from now onwards.

This post will be about a few pictures of my trip to mighty Himalayas in Sept’2007. I hope you will like what you are about to witness.

I know, that you might have seen much better pictures then these but this is my humble attempt in capturing the beauty of Himalayas with a $40 worth of camera, 10 years back !!

Views from the Highest Motorable Pass: Khardung La- It's a mountain pass in the Ladakh region of the Indian state of Jammu and Kashmir. The elevation of Khardung La is 5,359 m (17,582 ft)

1.JPG

Enroute to Khardung La:

2.JPG

More Plains: A plateau at a height of 4800 meters spread across 40 kilometers or Approx 25 miles.

3.JPG

Towards Nubra Valley: Located to the north east of Ladakh Valley and commonly accessed by passing the highest motorable pass, “Khardung La”. If you want to see the land of sand dunes in Himalayas, visit a place called “Hunder” famous for Sand Dunes and Double Hump Bactrian Camels in Nubra Valley .

4.JPG

5-Camelus bactrianus.jpg

Source

DSC04595.JPG

The beautiful ever mesmerizing Pangong Tso Lake: It’s a saltwater later situated at a height of 4350 Mtr (14,270 ft). It is spread across 134KM or 83 Miles from India to China. Approximately 40% of the lake lies in India, rest in China. The color of the lake water changes by every passing hour and its even magical in winter when this massive lake freezes completely. Imagine, an ice skating ground this big !!

8.JPG

7.JPG

9.JPG

DSC04764.JPG

Some random shots:

Leh Palace:

DSC04282.JPG

Wide Open Valleys:

9.1.JPG

These photographs are nothing to describe the beauty of this region and even a thousand more pictures cannot do justice to the beauty of Himalayas so keeping this post short and wrapping up with few pictures of quirky road signs in this region:

10.JPG

12.JPG

Please excuse me if the fonts and size of these pictures bother you, I'm still new to all this and trying to learn.

If you like what you read and you think it adds any value to this platform, please upvote and follow. The support is motivation for newbies like me.

Signing Off,
Cheers,
DJ


PS: A special shoutout to @firepower for introducing me to Steemit and to @tinashe - Your comment on my introductory post helped me to format this post better than my last one. 😊

Sort:  

Attempt successful, will be waiting for more! :D

beautiful photography I must admit, you know your way round a camera, great post. @dheerajdj

pictures are amazing! great job!

Loved the pictures!

Thank you Kim

Amazing photography dude! Loved it! :) Always a good idea to lead the article with an image, especially photo posts. :)

Thanks bro for the pro tip. :)

Great images, thanks for posting them, I'll be following you closely :)

@dheerajdj, awesome photographs. @tinashe is a really cool helpful dude around here. I loved the 2 posts by @timcliff & @donkeypong that you mentioned in the post above. You are in good hands now. 😊👍

good picture,,,
I like pict you,,,
are you photography,,,,,? @dheerajdj

Yes I do as a hobby

ouh good, may I ask for your comments on my photos, I am a hobby photographer, too, but I am just a rookie. ...

sure bro, I consider myself a rookie too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44