Visit to the Los Angeles Natural History Museum (Part 1)

in #photography5 years ago

I have been extremely busy after having starting a new show, so busy that I haven't had time to actually make any new vlogs, so those will be on hiatus for a little while. But I have been managing to take a few nice photos in my adventures with the kiddos, so here's a few short photo posts for you, mostly to show that I'm not dead! :D

This past weekend we went to the Natural History Museum of Los Angeles. I have been living here for almost 4 years but haven't managed to make it to that place until now! School's out for summer, and I work 12 hour days during the week, so spending time with the family on the weekends is important, and finding stuff that we'd all love to do can be tricky. Thankfully this day trip was definitely a hit!

Dinos at the Entrance

First we saw the hall of mammals, and checked out the displays there. I didn't take any photos in there because honestly I wasn't super inspired to and I really didn't have the right lens to do anything unique. But the displays are great and I'll have to go back there with my sketchbook when big kid gets older - she also loves to draw.

Next we went to the rocks and gemstones exhibit, which I found to be much cooler than I thought! They have a really fantastic collection! Granted some of their older collections (birds, mammals, rocks) are a bit dated in vibe, I must say the whole museum was pretty great.

Here are a few of my favourite rock photos I managed to take - unfortunately I didn't have the presence of mind to note what kinds of rocks they actually were (derp). But they were beautiful so hopefully I still do them justice:

Rocks01

Rocks02

I LOVE the texture on this blue one...

Rocks03

Green crystal be chillin on his soft white bed (I want to say it's quartz?)

Rocks04

DRAMATIC ROCK! This one kind of looks like it's the Emerald City from the Wizard of Oz on a moody, ominous starless night...

All of these were taken with my Sony A7sii Camera on a Canon EF-S 18-55mm lens. It was pretty dark in there so the iso was pretty high up (hence the noise) but this camera is perfect for that sort of thing. My next lens investment though will definitely be a nice macro lens - I learned how important that is to have on this trip for sure!

Thanks for looking and upvoting - I got a few more rocks and will share those photos in part 2!

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinArt StoreThreadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

Sort:  

These are really gorgeous, @derosnec ! And it's so good to see another post from you as it is ALWAYS good to come across your beautiful posts <3 I love your vlogs but I realise they take a lot of time and effort to make, so I will faithfully wait until you are not super busy to continue that series :D

The crystals are amazing, you really captured them almost as if they are jewels, or outcroppings from an alien planet * ___ * I love the blue one very much <3 And that last one DOES look like OZ in ample vibes !

Always looking forward to your posts, @derosnec ! I miss your drawings too, and if you ever go back to this museum with your daughter to draw the mammals section, be sure to post about that ! <3333333

Aww you are so sweet @veryspider! Thanks for sticking around <3 The vlogs will come back for sure!! And next year I want to do a 365 day drawing challenge, so there will me SO MUCH DRAWING! hahah

WOw those shots are awesomeI love those cool rock shot, and don’t worry i also always forget to get shots of the names of things so I can remember what they are when I do a post ;)

haha thanks @tattoodjay! Yeah the rocks just had so many beautiful textures.. I was having a field day haha

They textures and light on them are so cool for sure

Seems like a perfect place to visit with curious children. Nice photos.

Posted using Partiko iOS

thank you! Yes it's definitely a great museum which is great for kiddos!

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78