S7 Macro PhotographysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

The S7 has a tiny sensor, which increases the depth of field considerably when compared to full frame and even crop sensor cameras. There are two drawbacks though - the lens is not of extremely high quality, making anything off center highly distorted, and it's angle of view is rather wide (28mm equivalent), which requires the photographer to get up the bees' butts.

Here are some unedited photos, taken straight out of the phone. Right click and open in a new tab for a better view!

20170628_100236.jpg

20170628_100246.jpg

20170628_103732.jpg

20170628_104203.jpg

20170628_104204.jpg

20170628_104221.jpg

20170628_104231.jpg

20170628_104233.jpg

20170628_104234(0).jpg

20170628_104239.jpg

Sort:  

Wow ... Very good picture, you have amazing photography talent. Keep up your skills. One day you must be a great photographer. Be assured of that. Because with confidence and effort all will surely materialize by itself. Thank you for sharing @dek. .. amazed ..

I guess that's the same high praise you gave @ocrdu on his post, so I will assume this is a compliment and not a scheme to get rich by upvoting your own comments :)

Then again, it's allowed on Steemit, so go ahead! :)

Thanks its support ! :)

amazing camera with amazing photographer with amazing share
like like like

You are too kind!

beautiful photos!, upvoted!

Thank you, I appreciate it!

Good shots.

I use a smaller camera for this sort of thing as well; at least you get to choose the depth of field instead of always having bits out of focus.

Using a wide-angle lens can be a bit of a pain when you are dealing with the more skittish beasties, but I still manage the odd macro-ish photo at 42 or 28mm.

You've perfected wide angle macro photography, I know your work well :)

I suppose Olympus' four thirds cameras should be perfect for macro photography, but when there's less light, the image quality is noticeably poor.

What's the best macro photography kit in your opinion?

For sheer optical quality, nothing beats the old Nikon 200mm macro lens, the Nikon 200mm f/4 ED-IF AF Micro-NIKKOR. I think it is still in production, costs about $1700, I think.

Other than that, it depends a bit on how close you want to get. I'm really happy with my Olympus Stylus 1s and XZ-1 and their macro modes, and I have used quite a few cameras over the years. I don't mind working around the limitations of smaller sensors for macro photography (1/1.7" and 1/1.63" respectively).

I must add that these days, I only use cameras I can carry around with me all day, and that limits the choice a bit.

I must admit, I'm starting to feel the same way. But I just don't like the image quality of micro four thirds cameras... Maybe a Fuji XT with a normal angle prime would be the best fit for me, although it's not much smaller than Nikon's popular bodies.

Image quality is good enough at lower ISOs, and ISO400 is already a luxury for me, as I used to shoot Ilford FP4+ ISO125 film exclusively.

I now use auto ISO limited to 100-320 and that's fine. The Stylus 1s is OK up to ISO400 and the XZ-1 up to ISO200. I never print larger than 25 x 38cm and use 8 to 10MP for that, so no problem there either.

And I complain about too much noise at 1600 ISO :)

You know, I almost never print. I don't know what to do with the photos - I'd hate to put them in a photo book and forget about them. I already do that with my hard drive :)

Really great work, particularly for just using a phone camera! Are you able to adjust the aperture or shutter speed at all?

There is a Pro mode, which allows that, but it's a bit fiddley to use. These were taken in Auto mode.

The photos seems nice, until you compare them to a DSLR. Then, they are not really that impressive :)

I think much of the wow effect comes from boosted contrast and saturation, which Samsung is known to implement in their phones.

I see. I sometimes have to chest using the default app on the Nexus 5, focus on a bright spot to darken the overall image or a dark place to brighten everything, it's pretty hot and miss though.

Yes, that's the same here. The problem is that metering and focus are taken from the same spot, whereas it would be perfect if we could select both individually.

There was an app that allowed that, but I don't remember its name. I think it was free and open sourced.

Will always give an upvote to solid mobile photography :) nice pics dude

They say that a good photographer can take good shots with any camera - so I'll accept that as a compliment, thank you! :)

:) dropped a follow dude, look forward to seeing plenty more!

I see you have some interesting posts as well - followed you too :)

Something else entirely: I notice that only a small percentage of your followers votes for, or looks at, your postings, even when you compensate the numbers for dead followers.

I have the same. If all these people don't ever look at, or vote for, my content, then why are they following me? Maybe they are stalkers, not followers.

Any ideas on this?

The mid May spike in the price of Steem attracted a lot of people, looking for a quick buck. They realize they need a lot of followers to make a lot of cash, so they hope the traditional follow-for-follow strategy would work here (while copy pasting articles from the net, hoping to get upvotes).

The problem is that Steemit doesn't notify anyone of new followers, so this strategy doesn't really work. So they now follow hundreds of people, but won't bother unfollowing them - first, because unfollowing so many people is a very slow and time consuming process, but mostly because they don't use their Home feed in the first place (they don't care about people's content, they care about cash).

Instead they stalk the New feed, for articles with a big (SBD wise) upvote. Not only will they get more cash as curators from these posts, but the rich authors often upvote any comments on their posts, bringing in more profits to the ever hungry minnows. That's why rich authors are more popular - even though they often post low quality content.

This whole thing would've ended with Steem's price falling back down again, with WannaCrypt's slow decline in number of infected computers (and related Bitcoin laundering), were it not for yesterday's news of a new ransomware, named Petya.

If it is successful, expect the events from mid May to repeat themselves.

p.s. I've gotten good at typing on my phone! But my fingerprints are now gone.

Good time for a burglary!

Thanks for the reaction, I'm going to do a post about this, I think. I also think that, if you want to reply to that post, you should copy-and-paste the above comment, to prevent wearing down your fingers to the bone 8-).

Haha, I'll make a point to do so :)

I mean, as far as camera phones go these are some good shots! Especially that second one

I suppose, considering that the image hosting service seems to have resized them and changed their quality along the way. It's certainly amazing to have such an excellent camera in a phone, but we're spoiled by our DSLR's :)

Congratulations @dek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

If you wouldn't have said it I would never have known this was taken with a phone camera. Amazing, I wonder what the S8 will do if this is the S7.

I'm not sure whether the camera was improved in the S8, but I can't stand curved screens - you can't grab the phone, without touching the screen.

True, myself I think I'll get the Oneplus 5.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55326.60
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32