You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My first five posts on Steemit: butterflies, dragonflies, and a lizard

in #photography8 years ago

Great repost. Thanks. I did miss these early on, as I was probably not on here yet. Great shots and very nice detail. That Olympus is a nice camera for a take-anywhere. My Nikon D-200 is getting old, and has some problems in color shift/spotting on the sensor. So I've been using a small Pentax lumix. It is hard to hold steady in low light, which seems to be what I shoot alot. It is small, and isn't greatly stabilized, so I'm trying to use a tripod again...not quite like lugging a 4x5 outfit around, but still, really changes the game a bit. Those little critters don't always stay put for long as you mess with setting it up. Plus, as you said in the horse photo, it's nice to be able to shoot at any time/anywhere. Have you ever used a monopod? I've thought about trying that, not sure how useful they are.

Sort:  

Yes, I like the Olympus Stylus 1s I shoot now, I think it is a nice size/functionality compromise and it can do f2.8 over the full zoom range. Unfortunately, this camera was discontinued and no successor was announced. I haven't seen anything similar enough from other manufacturers yet.
I have used a monopod in the past only for use with very long (and heavy!) lenses, but I rarely use such equipment anymore. A monopod takes the weight, is easy to move around and it stabilises a little.
I use a miniature tripod for photographing mushrooms, all the rest I shoot handheld.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44