Toy City :: Unique Views of Japan #4

in #photography6 years ago

Welcome to Toy City.

_.jpg

Made possible by the use of Hipstamatic for the double and mirror exposures and some editing in Snapseed to add the tilt-shift effect.

One of the most powerful things for any photographer is going on photo walks whenever possible. Ideally once a day, but at least once a week. These are good for maintaining creativity. I don't go with any goal in mind, but I usually do go with a limitation of some kind. This may be to only use my 90mm lens, my Holga, my smartphone, etc. If my smartphone, I may limit myself to one of the more restrictive apps, like Hipstamatic. Limitations are good. They get us out of our comfort zone and get us trying new things. And trying new things is a surefire way to avoid photoblock (the equivalent of writers block) by keeping the creative juices going.

On this day, I was limiting myself to my smartphone and Hipstamatic. I put Hipstamatic on the random setting, which means that every single photo will use a random effect. Hipstamatic adds two effects to every shot, one from a "film" and one from a "lens", making quite a lot of potential combinations for the randomization engine to choose from. I dug this one.

Using the random effect adds an element of chance to things. Even if I take a great photo, it might pick a lousy effect and ruin the shot. This is a lot like doing a double exposure on a roll of film back in the day.

If you are a photographer, professional or amateur, I fully recommend taking photowalks with limits. You'll be amazed with the results.


Do you want to use this photo in one of your projects? You can! See here for details.


Don't miss the other great photos in the Unique Views of Japan photo series!

  1. Waiting For a Train
  2. Beam Me Up
  3. Comings and Goings

If you enjoyed this post, please like and resteem. Also be sure to follow me to see more from Japan everyday.

I post one photo everyday, as well as a haiku and as time allows, videos, more Japanese history, and so on. Let me know if there is anything about Japan you would like to know more about or would like to see.

Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.
Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dbooster to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69