What is this?

in #photography7 years ago

Yesterday my son and I were out mountain biking (actually prairie biking), it was a beautiful day for a ride! Just beyond the pond there is an object that at a distance looks like an old car or something. It's been there ever since we moved to the area some 7 years back. So we decided it was time for a closer look!

This is what we found. What on earth is it though? If you know what it is please leave a comment as to what you think it is!



06485E8E-140E-4B07-ABE5-65DBFE5F80A0.JPG

Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge



A360E3B3-EB15-4EC1-B01E-FA0A0E0D0163.JPG



9D92147C-D8E4-445F-A317-3675181684D1.JPG



117E06C1-B5B1-446F-B071-BBC005F23D73.JPG



3E85C230-3D21-4051-8D95-A1136F5A6145.JPG



789BB793-F1C8-4406-A3AD-B39E0AE10449.JPG



6A1B3E6A-4BE5-4267-956A-B89891BF684B.JPG



Rocky Mountains!



IMG_1588.JPG

Thanks to @papa-pepper for creating these logos for @daveks!



Sort:  

it's a soil compactor.
it squishes the dirt to make it harder.
pulled by tractors or dozers.
road building or other civil engineering applications...(earth dams)

I appreciate your answer too. One of my goals is to buy a farm, in the next 12 months. New to me ... Oh boy this will be fun.

We are in the process of setting up a homestead ourselves. Steemit has even been paying for farm animals for us!

That is way toooooo cool.

I can't way to buy a farm!

I imagine it's pretty old, the ones google images bring up are different. Thanks @everittdmickey for your detailed answer!

You are such a source of knowledge man, thanks!

Geez, I mean, if you just read the label on the photo it says it is a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge.

Duh, missed that one! Lol @kabrink!

It looks like old soviet versios of tractor. But it should be at least 50 years old.

I think @everittdmickey has the correct answer. It's a soil compactor. Thanks @sanevys!

My husband says it looks like something that was used to compact or flatten gravel for roads back in the old days, especially since it has that large granite weight on it. It'll be interesting to find out what it really is.

I think @everittdmickey has it right, it's a soil compactor, an old one. Thanks for your input @weq!

I have seen one before when I was younger. The gentleman that was using it was just riding up and down a dirt road. I assumed that it was for makeing dirt roads more stable. And compacting the dirt. Very cool picture. Thanks for the share kinda brought me back to my younger years for a minute.

Thanks for your comment @raybrockman, looks like it's a "soil compactor" an old one, according to @everittdmickey!

Looks like a train carriage for transporting loads, but it's wheels doesn't look right.

It's a soil compactor according to @everittdmickey. Good guess though @cryptodog!

Interesting! Good finding! Amazing! ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $23.58 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Looks like an old UFO

Well I guess they have to have farms on other planets...so aliens.

I think it is the only one possible explanation )))

Appears to be a soil compactor as @everittdmickey said @yuriks2000!

An old-time packer for sure.

I've been told it's a soil compactor, thanks for looking @ramblinmind!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50