I just screamed like a little girl

in #photography6 years ago

sonya7iii_001.jpg

.... and I'd probably do it again too.

So yeah I'm just ridiculously excited. I just checked the tracking for my new camera (Sony A7 III and 24-70 f2.8 G Master lens) and it will be in my hands tomorrow.

I really can't wait, @condra will testify I've been researching and obsessing over this new camera for quite while so I'm very excited. Also looking forward to shooting lots of new content to share with you guys too.

For the purists out there, I know the camera doesn't make the photograph its the photographer. Having a really nice well designed camera doesn't do any harm though. Especially if it gives you a refreshed enthusiasm to get out there and shoot 😄

Sort:  

Ah man, it's gonna be like xmas tomorrow :O I thought you were going with the metabones btw? Good choice going native though!

I picked up a Metabones mk V too. I've a few Canon lenses in mind for things like macro where I don't mind the AF being a bit quirky. I've done many shoots without taking a 24-70 off my camera so for that one I wanted to go native and never have to worry about AF. Worked out a bit more expensive but should be better off long term.

Are you already a Sony user?

Nope this will be my first Sony camera, and first mirrorless camera.

That's awesome. I'm a Canon user myself and I keep seeing people switching from Canon and Nikon to Sony mirrorless ... why did you make the switch?

I've got the same question.

I should mention I was previously a Nikon shooter. Nikon cameras have amazing image quality for stills, but their video features aren't great. Their video autofocus is basically non existent. There's a few other advantages to mirrorless cameras in general over DSLR that appeal to me. One example is its technically impossible to have a lens forward or back focus like you can have on a DSLR. All DSLR's have an autofocus processor separate from the sensor, where as mirrorless cameras take the focus directly from the sensor so its typically more accurate even at wide open apertures. Theres some advantages of DSLR's too of course but overall mirrorless just seems to cater more towards the features that are important to me.

Great info, thanks!

Mostly for the video and autofocus features. I've been tempted by mirrorless for quite a while but with this new generation of Sony cameras I just couldn't say no.

Freaking excited for you brother! Better gear married with the know-how will make for better photos!

Congrats

Thanks Mikey, will hopefully result in some nice new work soon.

Yes sirrrrr. Plus I pimps it will inspire you to get out more to shoot!

Great! I am going to order a7 III as well :-) can't sleep since I saw this sucker in action!!!

It just ticks every box, so many amazing features in one little camera.

Wow! I know the feeling i am from Venezuela and i ordered a sony a7 two weeks ago. I can't wait any longer!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85