Farewell Antarctica.

in #photography6 years ago

Part 20 in my Journey to Antarctica. If you enjoy the stories and photos, please comment and let me know!

PDS_4674.jpg

It seems like just yesterday that my journey began, but it is finally at an end.

On the final day, I stepped foot on the continent itself, a minimal experience compared to the rest of the journey, but somehow finalizing the experience.

PDS_5800.jpg
On the continent itself, as opposed to one of the many islands in the area.

As our ship sailed away, a group of whales paid us a visit, waving their tails as the dove beneath the waves. The sunset, red and orange, warmed the skies in an attempt to get us to stay longer.

PDS_6372.jpg
It sounds like something poetic to say, but it really did happen.

But the photo I highlight today is not of those things, but instead of the vessel that took me there, and just as importantly, brought me back safely.

PDS_4911.jpg
Iceberg for scale.

I am thankful to the crew and experts that joined us on this incredible journey. The destination was amazing, but without the complimenting people, this journey would not have been the incredible adventure it was.

PDS_4525.jpg

Antarctica, I will return. Until then, farewell and stay cool.

PDS_6414.jpg
It really did happen!

P.S. Although the main story-line is over, stay tuned for the next couple of posts where I talk about why I was there and another post on images that didn't fit the overall narrative, but that I still really like.

Sort:  

Those views are gorgeous! I would love to travel to Antarctica one day, it is so beautiful that it looks surreal. I will have to check out your other posts as well :)

There is lots more to come! I hope you enjoy!

Amazing photos! I will definitely check the other posts in this series!

Thank you! I really hope you enjoy the whole series and stay tuned for more!

Argh! I just discovered your blog after you've finished posting everything. Antartica looks amazing!

As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see your travel posts pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Don't worry, there is lots more to come! I'll check it out your site when Im preparing my next post to see how it works. Thanks!

Well you can edit this one to include the code if you like. You've got 7 days.

Also, good re future posts. I'd love to see some Antartica pins pop up on the map. That would be very cool.

Great post! Love to share it!I'm an OCD curator and i want to nominate this post to our daily compilation. This could get you more attention to your blog and maybe some extra votes. Reply if you accept.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Sure. It would be great if you could share this with others! Feel free to resteem it!

the pace look like other world. so clan and i sure well cold !! upvote resteem and follow @dorotea

Wow, that must have been so exciting! :D Gorgeous photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94