Importance of Being a Bridge ?

in #photography6 years ago

15 years of living in China, and now finally, my stay here is coming to an end. How would I summarize these years ? Would I change this experience for something different ?

IMG_3167.JPG

I originally moved here because my dad was transferred to the Shanghai Ikea office. So at first it was not my decision to go here. After finishing high school though I soon realized that the next best move wouldn't necessarily be to go off to some famous foreign university, but to stay here in China, the Middle Kingdom.

This was around 12 years ago, but even then it was evident to me that China was going to be the next big power in the world. Things just move at such an amazing pace here, people are hungry to better their life, and with the worlds largest population it's hard to find and other place with this level of competition.

So now back to the original theme of the post; "the importance of being a bridge." Bridges are often metaphorically used in the sense that they can help to bridge the gap between two things. When I refer to the importance of being a bridge I mean that it's very important, to possess some qualities that let you act like a bridge.

What has allowed me to become a bridge is the fact that I chose to stay in China and learn mandarin fluently. The number of Swedish people that can speak fluent Chinese and that have the kind of experience I have of living here so long and understand the culture is very very rare.

I have sacrificed a lot to put myself in the position I am today. But I will always have an advantage with the experience I have gained from living here. So would I trade it for something else ? No way. Has their been hard times living here ? Like you wouldn't believe. But in the end I think one has to push oneself more and more in today's life to gain an edge and to be a bridge that can help connect and solve a problem.

What is your opinion ?

Sort:  

Wow! I think big changes. It's good of you to learn the language and to dive into the traditions and cultures of the people where you've been living. That's huge and very shaping of the person you are. It's awesome to have the understanding and experience you've gained through your life experience. Not an easily aquired set of skills available to just anyone. And, therefore, yeah a bridge you can be! If that's something you enjoy becoming? Who knows?! Another 15 years will come and go!! What adventures are in line next!??

I can relate to big changes after 15 years! It's happening to me too. "Oh the places, you will go...."

As long as you enjoy the journey! How's your coin design doing in the contest?

Hi there ! What an awesome Reply ! I love it. Indeed I think it's worth it in the end, I have no regrets. Maybe it can help to better the rest of my life so I'm glad I did it.

The coin competition is going well thanks and soon I think there is going to be a second round with the top picks for round one. I should be able to make it there :) thanks for asking

Inspirerande resa du har gjort!:) Kommer du tillbaka till Sverige nu?

Hej! Ja, nu äntligen bär det hem igen. Ska bli skönt och jag ser fram imot det. Saknar familjen och naturen i Sverige. I slutet på mars åker jag och min fru.

Gött, välkommen hem :) Vilken stad flyttar ni till?

Tackar! Det blue Växjö . Vilken stad bor du i, väldigt norrut har jag för mig ?

Nice, där har jag aldrig varit..det är bara 1200 km från Skellefteå :)

Experience, if faced with an open minded attitude, is one of the greatest value we can have. Sometimes maybe we tend to watch things from an economical point of view. If I do this I'll get back that, economically. Of course, deeply we know that it's not the only nor the more important value we can have. I think to handle a different culture, learn a language, being connected with such different mentalities it's a really great value, that may help people economically, but most of it on the human side. It's nice to see you've taken advantage of the possibility you had, even if it may have been hard sometimes!

Thanks for your thoughtful reply. I really agree with what you say here, value should not only be measured in money. Some have a lot of money but not happiness they are not necessarily correlated all the time.

I always wanted to speak Mandarin but i think it's impossible to speak unless you understand the culture. Living in China would help me, as it helped you. So, i would have sacrifice from myself either if i ever had the chance. I didn't. I you ask to me, i recommend you not to think about it. Just live with your great experience and memories.

Hope everything be as your dreams when you go back home.

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. If you want to learn Mandarin, it is true, you would have to move to China to learn it the best

I understand the theme of your article. Bridges are needed to connect and solve a problem. And off-topic you might have had tons of memories from there for 12 years. Don't you have?

Many Many memories, Both good and bad :)

its too good

This great photography.... i appreciate this story..... keep it up

Photography is not about the cameras,gadgets and gismos. Photography is about photographers.Photography is the power of observation and not the application of technology.Photography is the only language that can be understood anywhere in the world...
stay blessed and tanks for sharing the post:):):)

"advantage of experience gained", always is a valuable resource in the journey of life :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45