Vintage Family PhotossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago
So I have been reorganizing the folders in my dropbox and have stumbled open a collection of vintage photographs of my moms. I few years back I had scanned a box of pictures that she had so that we would have a digital back up copy. The feeling I got when I opened the folder was similar to the feeling you get when you open up the box in the corner of the basement. What treasures lie inside! We were luck that my Grandmother (we called her Nana) was an avid amateur photographer. Growing up she was always taking pictures. She even had a Polaroid camera which was the prequel to the digital variety. You could see the image in just a few minutes instead of waiting days to have it developed. We have boxes of photos from family gatherings, holidays, beach trips and every other moment that you can remember. The particular box of photos that I had scanned were mostly the old black and white ones. There are many pictures of my grandparents before my mom was born. The image that I will be sharing today is actually rare because it has been colorized. I have the remaining pictures from the photo shoot and all of the others are still in black and white. This particular photo had color added so that they could have it hung up on the wall and displayed. As you can see there is some damage to the picture but I actually like it that way. It makes it seem vintage. I love this picture of my mom. I have also added a more recent picture of my mom with my son Luke. I hope you guys enjoy.




Darryl (@dadview) resides in Canada. He is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of steemparents and teemcanada
Check out my Previous Blog


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

This picture is really Nice ! This vintage look is very cool. Definitely should be careful with it!

Congratulations @dadview! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That's so awesome. I feel the same way about old pictures. I have one of my great grandmother with her mother. It must be 1880s. One of my most treasured possessions.

Wow. My oldest ones are probably around 1940s

Well, the one I have is a copy. My mom has the original. She'd never let me bring it here to this humidity.

Beautiful photograph @dadview, as you say, that color you got, makes it look vintage. I really like the way the picture looks. Greetings. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56847.11
ETH 2970.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29