Hidden Gems Found on a Hidden Trail

in #photography7 years ago

I was recently looking through some old photos I had on my laptop and came across some beautiful pictures that I totally forgot about!

My boyfriend and I went on a hike a few months ago and found a trail hidden behind a neighborhood lot a few miles north from my old house. What we saw was incredible and I just wanted to share some of that with you :)

This was taken at the beginning of the hike. You can see a house nestled behind the flowers. I wonder what it would be like to wake up to such a beautiful view every single day..
DSC_0447.jpg

A few minutes into the hike we saw this gorgeous valley framing another mountain in the backside. It was breathtaking.
DSC_0445.jpg

Soon there was a fork along the hike trail, one was wider and more walked upon and the other was a bit skinny and less travelled.
We decided to go on the path less travelled. :)

It was worth it. We found ourselves surrounded by these gorgeous fields of beautiful yellow flowers everywhere. I couldn't help but smile when I saw this picture because it reminded me the feeling of peace and appreciation I had the exact moment when I was there.
DSC_0440.jpg

After taking a few more photos, we decided to turn around and continue along the original path we were taking.
DSC_0454.jpg
DSC_0452.jpg

So here we are walking along this trail, that at one point had a pretty steep incline, we take a second to stop because we soon noticed that this trail became a piece of art itself. (Note: this was taken when we were going uphill on an incline, so we could not see what was behind the trail at all. It was only the trail framed by nature being illuminated by the sky in the background. It reminded me of something that I would see in the movies! It was so crazy!
DSC_0450.jpg

We kept walking, absorbing the beautiful energy around us when after awhile, we see a tiny, tiny slit on our left side in the field. At first, I couldn't tell if this was manmade or not. I could see it was another very small walkway that was created in this field when I felt like it shouldn't have been there in the first place. Why would someone want to walk straight into a field with no clear direction of where to go? This is where my ego came in. "Don't go inside." "You could get lost." "Stay on the original path." "Keep walking." I debated for a little...what should I do? Should I stay on this path I'm currently walking on, or take a chance and take a detour towards something totally unexpected.

We decided to take the detour.

So we both step inside this field, walking along a very small manmade pathway.
I'm not going to lie, I was a bit hesitant, but I thought, "Why not? I'm always a sucker for adventures, so I just decided to go for it.
For the first few minutes, all I could see were fields. Around me, next to me, a little above me. Some of the flowers were pretty high, so at one point I feared that we were going to get lost.
Once the fear began to set it, I got a somewhat friendly reminder from the universe. A flower out of nowhere decided to gently hit my face while I was walking and then soon after another one hit my face. I just had to trust the universe and trust myself as to where I was going. There was nothing to fear. The only thing to fear was fear itself.

Finally, an small opening appeared to us in the distance and I lit up. I felt like I was walking into a new world, another dimension, a new reality. Maybe a little exaggerated, but it was still pretty cool. Once we had reached the end of the path, unveiled to us was an such an amazing view. We got to see all the neighborhoods and streets below us and we even saw Los Angeles off in the distance because we were so high up. I am honestly so grateful to have found this trail because if we didn't we would've never experienced such a great surprise.
DSC_0459.jpg

DSC_0461.jpg

I feel some of these photos don't do justice because it's definitely a different experience when you are there in person, I just wish I had the words to explain to you how at peace and free I felt when I was up there. It was amazing.
DSC_0460.jpg

After taking in the beautiful sight and hanging out there a little while longer, we decided it was time to head back home.
We walked into the field again, came to the original wide trail we were walking along earlier, went downhill, and back towards where the houses were.
Here are some photos we took on the way back. :)
DSC_0473.jpg

DSC_0475.jpg

DSC_0477.jpg

It was definitely great revisiting these photos and getting to relive the experience again. I hope you enjoyed getting to see the beauty nature has to offer.

Much Love,
Priscilla

Sort:  

Congratulations @crystalcloud! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @crystalcloud! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44