Pallbearer in Monochrome — the First Photoset from a Killer Show

in #photography7 years ago

crimsonclad-pbbw5.jpg

It's probably clear by now that I love both metal and photography.

I've just recently started down the path of being able to shoot live shows, and it's one of my greatest achievements to date. It took some guts to step up and ask/tell promoters, "I'm good enough — so give me a chance." It's taken me a long time to get through the process of culling down this set, and grouping it into a few collections in different lighting schemes.

Normally, I write some really meaningful prose to go with all my photos, but this time... well, I'm really, really proud of these. I kind of want the music photography I post here to speak for itself. So I figure I'll post some show anecdotes, some links to the music, and then let you derive what you want from the images.

crimsonclad-pbbw10.jpg

Meet Pallbearer; North American deep, melodic doom metal at its finest.

I've actually played these guys on my metal radio show a few times now, and the response from listeners has been pretty instantaneous. People are really digging a little dark and heavy, so if you're willing, you should definitely check them out and help them grow. You can find their website here, or listen to them on a streaming service like Spotify. I happen to be madly in love with Love You to Death, so if you want to know what a romantic, eerie doom ballad sounds like, start there.

crimsonclad-pbbw1.jpg

crimsonclad-pbbw2.jpg

crimsonclad-pbbw6.jpg

crimsonclad-pbbw8.jpg

I honestly live for pictures like this.

Look at these people, at a sold out show, having the time of their lives. I feel the same way about live music, and metal in particular, so there's something so intimate to me about capturing that instant in time; freezing that pure joy forever. While many of these are not technically good photos (we're talking focal points and lighting, sharpness, etc... but shooting under bad concert lighting is a bitch anyways,) the unbridled passion they convey make them — to me — the most poignant pieces of work that I produce.

crimsonclad-pbbw7.jpg

crimsonclad-pbbw3.jpg

crimsonclad-pbbw4.jpg

crimsonclad-pbbw9.jpg

I'm hoping these first few sets I put out get my foot in the door for bigger opportunities. I honestly think they will.

I can't wait to share more here with you guys. One of the best things about this platform is sharing success and elation with others; hopefully that comes through with each post I make.

All of these photos are my own original work, taken on my travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️
crimsonclad.png

Sort:  

Such a silvery look to the photos. Also, I appreciate your camera angles and composition. I've reached the end of my photo knowledge, so I don't have anything left to say — except reciting random terms...

Apertures! f-stops! film-grains! XD

BOKEH ALL THE THINGSSSSS

Passing by, that made my very overtired, fairly stressed out self laugh out loud. thanks. good timing.

:D

Wow, these photos are so filled with action and life. Works great in monochrome, excellent mood:-) I just love them!

This comment is upvoted with 75.47% Voting Power by @rougebot.

bkasia215093_final.jpg

FOR MORE DETAILS:
Click here

Your comment was upvoted cause there were no posts left to upvote and BOT is losing SP today. You will get 2 free upvotes once the BOT is back on SP.

thank you so much! I still have to learn more about low-to-no light, frenetic movement shooting, but I'm relishing the challenge!

My favourite? the 5th. Awesome shoots, badass life!

i love these speaking and moving moments and absolutely agree with what you wrote - i'm also living for the moments like these - i shot a lot of live events - stoner/blues/metal/punk bands mostly in BW, sometimes in colors. i love to find these emotional moments of the great connection between the musicians and the spectators/listeners
waiting for more
and here the link to my "onstage" page from the small and big scenes of TelAviv and Jerusalem with some big and unknown names of bands - http://www.victorbezrukov.com/folio/on-stage/

your portfolio is just stunning. Thanks for sharing! I have a lot to learn, I see~

to learn is to move forward - i have to learn from you too :-)
thank you for taking a look !

She's a beautiful teacher.

!!FOLLOW YOUR BLISS!!!

I'm working on it every day <3

Congratulations. This post has been featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-24

Beautiful serie. Good work. You really captured the crowd enthusiasm that's for sure.

that dude is LIVING for it, lol~

or dying for it... Take photos the day after at 6am to witness if the enthusiasm is still high... I doubt it :)

These are flippin awesome! !

thanks so much! I'm just taking my first baby steps into music photography- it is a totally different animal!

One of the best things about this platform is sharing success and elation with others; hopefully that comes through with each post I make.

yeah. that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54