Spot of the day - B&W series - Jewish Museum in Berlin.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)


I was quite curious to visit this place. There are many interesting spaces within the museum and the museum's grounds. Spaces that have been carefully designed by Daniel Libeskind and others, to convey some very powerful feelings. Following my visit to this museum, I would recommend anyone passing through Berlin, that has some time, to go and visit it at least for a an hour or so. It is an interesting and thought-provoking experience.

Just to give you some idea...there are, according to Lee F. Mindel, FAIA: "five vast spaces in the new building, called the Voids, express the darkness and uncertainty faced by so many during the Holocaust and throughout Jewish history."

I took all the shots using my trusty Nikon D700 and a Nikkor 24-85mm 3.5-4.5G ED lens.


This is the bare concrete Holocaust Tower. This space is neither heated nor cooled, so quite clammy. The only light comes from a small slit in its roof.



The Garden of Exile - represents the experience of European Jewish exiles that were driven from their homes during World War II. It is a disorienting experience to go between the 49 concrete columns that are willed with earth and have trees growing out of them. They are also arranged in a square on a 12° gradient...



Voids with Shalechet (Fallen Leaves), an installation by Menashe Kadishman that brings back images of the pain of war, with more than 10,000 faces with open mouths, cut from heavy round iron plates that cover the floor.

And there is so much more in this place...


Hope you like the post and please let me know what you think about the images. I really like feedback...

Also, I would want you to know that I would be humbled if you decided to use any of my images, however, please contact me about it first to discuss the matter. Thank you!

Sort:  

I just followed and upvoted you pls follow back thanks!

Thanks! :)

That's a nice one bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49