🐚Sand Patterns on the Beach, Part II - A Photo Essay📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Second of Two Parts: Click Here for Part 1

I've had a life-long love affair with the beach and the ocean.

Surfing is a passion with me, but even when I can't go surfing, I find simply walking near the ocean for a while very restful and relaxing. During my walk on the beach last week, I saw another set of patterns in the sand.

Southern California Beach Sunset...

Southern California Beach Sunset... - Original Photo

Unless otherwise noted,

all of these photos were taken with my phone/camera, and (FYI) I've uploaded them here at full resolution, so if you "right-click" and "open in new window" you can "zoom in" and see considerable additional detail.

As I walked along the beach, I snapped photographs of whatever captured my interest.

I'll show you my favorite once again.

Branching and swaying, this pattern of light and dark sand makes me imagine a mermaid's gown. I can also see the face of a dog. Can you see it?

Mermaid and Pup-1

Mermaid and Pup - Original Photo

I also spotted what looked like "micro-sand dunes."

Whereas the mermaid gown is surely created by water flowing in one direction, running in rivulets downward, off the beach and back to the ocean, I suspect that these "dunes" are caused by rippling wave action.

Micro-Dune-Like Sand Patterns on the Beach-2

Micro-Dune-Like Sand Patterns on the Beach - Original Photo

The interesting bi-color sand shades are evident in the dunes.

"White" and "black," or "light tan" and "dark grey," just like the branching runoff patterns, the "dunes" also display both colors. To the right and top of these pictures, you can see that the "dunes" also extend and exist under water.

"Dunes" and Adjacent Waterway-3

"Dunes" and Adjacent Waterway - Original Photo

I'm reminded of photographs of the Sahara Desert taken from space.

I feel like an astronaut, looking down on a distant world and seeing beautiful patterns that aren't obvious when you live right down among them. Here's another collection of "dunes" by the sea, with what perhaps look like "mountains" above and behind them.

Another Set of "Dunes"-4

Another Set of "Dunes" - Original Photo

The view down the beach.

As I head back to my car, I enjoy the view along the beach. Sand, exposed and deeply weathered reef, waves, cliffs, clouds; what a pleasant place to be!

Looking Down the Beach-5

Looking Down the Beach - Original Photo

My walk is over; time to climb the stairs.

When I surf, the hardest thing I do on any given day is get out of the water. The second hardest thing I do is leave the beach.

Sadly, that time has come...

Alongside the stairs up to the road stands the beginning of a very long, deeply weathered cliff. It, too, exhibits intricate natural patterns.

Weathered Cliff by the Stairs - 6

Weathered Cliff by the Stairs - Original Photo

OK, back to work... I hope you've enjoyed these beach scenes with me. Let's go walking again soon.


Thanks for your time and attention.

I'm here on Steemit because of you, my readers. I wouldn't be here if it weren't for you!

This post is intended to count towards @dragosroua's Challenge30.


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?

⬇️Please check out @creatr's world - CLICK each of the images below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Follow me, I'm @creatr

Sort:  

yeah, I have. Countrygirl's done - a lot of reasons, but it comes down to not feeling it's right for her. I'm helping her power down - she sends me steem and I convert it into ethereum or bitcoin and transfer the cash to her account. I'll miss her on here, but it happens. A lot of peeps miss me on Twitter, but I find it comes down to a choice of where to expend your time and energy and for me, it's here and now.

John, thanks for the info. I thought perhaps you might know.

I would appreciate it greatly if you'd convey my warmest regards to @countrygirl, along with my best wishes for her success and her future wherever she contributes. I found her to be a caring and encouraging soul, and I will miss her presence here! );

I will convey your wishes creatr - I'll miss her photo essays and her kind presence on here too. It's not for everyone, you know, and we have to accept that.
One acquaintance of mine who's a professional artist was so insulted by the meager rewards he got, he refused to cash out his account. Another friend willingly obliged, but he still didn't want the money. You need to be thick-skinned and prepared to sacrifice your darlings, I suppose

Thank you, sincerely, for the conveyance.

I'm saddened by the departures, and while at some level I understand such reactions clearly, I fear that greater foresight might have forestalled them. Not that I have any to speak of; I'm just old and experienced enough to understand that there is so little that I truly understand.

Case in point: I spoke at NCC '79 in New York City. Between sessions, I visited the exhibits floor and toured all of the amazing new computer technology on display. There, I saw a video projection of VisiCalc, the first spreadsheet for microcomputers. I yawned "Ho-Hum," and proceeded on my way, missing perhaps one of the most seminal developments in the advent of true "useful power" in personal computing.

I'm persuaded that blockchain-based distributed platforms like Steemit are the future, or at least a significant component of it, and so I hope to "hold on" and ride the wave.

Um, is this new practice, my friend? reposting the same content to make more rewards? Maybe I should try this b/c I have lots of stories in queue LOL!!

Okay, I noticed a few new shots .... my bad ha ha

Kindly look closer... While it's true that two of the photos are repeated (for continuity), the remainder of the content is new... did you not note "Part II" in the title? ;)

of course, I did - did you notice my second comment so you would realize I was teasing you? sheesh!

Nope, I guess I tend to go through my "Replys" serially... ;) :)

kind of the way I write LOL!!

BTW, How's the weather in the Cold North today? We've been having rainstorms down here...

Naw, it's anything but frigid - we've had mist and fog - it more resembles London or Vancouver - it was in the 40's the last couple of days which is unusually mild for January and no snow on the ground. So much for the Great White North, but actually, I'm further south than many American cities,

In the forties here today as well... :O

BTW, been meaning to ask if you'd heard from @countrygirl? Haven't seen here here for ages! Hoping she's OK...

Great pics @creatr - I love the way the ocean made waves into the sand

Thanks for stopping by and commenting, friend! ;)

I've photographed patterns in the sand at the beach before, too. I'm always amazed by them! I also love it when clouds look like those same wavy patterns.

That beach looks very appealing, Thank You for sharing! :)

Hi, @pyrowngs, Nice to "meet" you... Took a peek at your blog; following you now.

I invite you to browse my Topical Table of Contents, linked from the GIF below. If you find anything you like, I'd love to discuss it with you. ;) 😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86