Pelican SunsetsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

"A wonderful bird is a pelican,
His bill will hold more than his belican.
He can take in his beak
Food enough for a week;
But I'm damned if I see how the helican."

- Dixon Lanier Merritt -


I finally got to the beach today.

I've been dry for months, working too hard. Today it was past time, and I took my granddaughter with me to go surfing.

The waves were somewhat large and rough, so we mostly played around inshore and cooled off. Good exercise, good fun.

Did you know that pelicans surf too?

I've written about it before, and today found this remarkable article about the technical skill that surfing requires of them. Amazing!

While watching the sunset, I captured this series of photos of pelicans surfing.

There are five photos in the series.

The pelicans are catching a wave at about the vertical middle of the images. They enter from the left and exit to the right.

Table of Contents

Pelicans Surfing 1 - Original image by @creatr

Sadly,

all I had at hand was my smartphone camera, and so the resolution is marginal...

Table of Contents

Pelicans Surfing 2 - Original image by @creatr

NEVERTHELESS...

If you click on each image, you will open a full-sized version thereof, and looking closely, you should be able to spot the birds.

Table of Contents

Pelicans Surfing 3 - Original image by @creatr

In this middle image (above),

The pelicans are almost between the surfers and the sunset.

Table of Contents

Pelicans Surfing 4 - Original image by @creatr

Pelicans surfing are a sight to behold.

Go down to the Pacific shore one day and watch them.

Table of Contents

Pelicans Surfing 5 - Original image by @creatr

This video does a better job than my photos.

If you find this at all intriguing, watch the video...


Pelicans Surfing Video courtesy of V Hold and YouTube

When I watch the pelicans surfing,

I am impressed by the glory of their Creator, Jesus/God, who designed them and programmed them to be able to enjoy the waves for sport even as I do.

Hallelujah!


~FIN~


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more about Surfing, CLICK our Library Surfing Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Owsome photography @creatr

Ah the life of a surfing pelican. I love the video. I could see you surfing with the pelicans. Thanks @creatr

Yep... Awesome sauce... ;)

I am the surfing pelican with my paraglider. LOL

Yes, yes you are! LOL! :D

I also saw some motor paragliders there yesterday. Just south of Carlsbad. :D

I bet it was my friends.

One of 'em was pretty wild, doing endless "whoop-de-does" like a roller coaster... :O

What a beautiful video, you do not know how much you enjoy it, you really surf the pelicans and it looks spectacular!

Thank you, @yose... :D

hi @creatr, very fun your blog. :) I am from Aceh.

Wow a golden feelings photograph

Ah, the video is better seeing this. An elegant way to fly just inches above the water. I could ALMOST think of a nice orchestral piece of music that may go with it.

I would love to hear whatever orchestral piece you might choose to pair with that video... :D

It would be similar to the piece I chose for a Thank You video to my friend except less dramatic swells and I'd take a few Drone Video shots with close ups to follow these birds for cinematic effect.

Lovely music!

Thank you. :)

As a curious note, I tell you about our friends the pelicans, that here in the fresh fish sales of my city they are domesticated and they eat the waste of the fish that they prepare there. Receive my affections @creatr

Interesting!

That would make a nice picture story...

I'll be careful to write it, I just have to go take some photos to recreate the post, I really like LOL. By the way, today I wrote a story in @jayna's 50-word challenge, dedicated to the sea. From a memory that I lived on fishing days with my father. Receive my affections @creatr

I love the video. The pelicans are enjoying the waves :)

They sure are. It is really fun to watch in real life! :D

All we have is noisy sea gulls.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70