Walk with Abbey and me....steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)



The other day, Abbey and I walked.


me and my shadow

Near our home is an off shoot of the Bruce Trail that winds behind some neighboring houses along a creek. The trail is one of my favorite places to walk. The sun was low — the time of day, known as the golden hour, where your shadow is long and the sun casts a golden light where it lands.

Along this trail, peaking through the foilage are people's backyards. Some of them have dogs and Abbey anticipates their presence. She typically slows down and looks hoping they will be there so she can run along the other side of their fence and have a visit. While she runs I get to watch and laugh.

I don't know why it's funny but it makes me happy to see her running like a crazy dog and looking back at me as if to say,

"See? This is the best fun ever!"


I used to let her run off leash along this path but not anymore. She always ends up with burrs in her paws and under her arms and other unmentionable places. Plus we have a new invasion of the giant wild parsnip that is toxic and noxious. I didn't want to come into contact with its oil from Abbey's fur and I didn't want her to have contact on her paws. This weed causes severe burns. Our city is trying to eradicate it.







As the wind picked up in gusts the trees above swayed. The sound was similar to waves rushing the shore. I wish I could somehow import the sound and feel of the wind into my photos.

Slowly walking along this path allowed me time to let go of my busy mind and notice the trees and the water in the creek quietly gurgling.

A chipmunk ran in front of me, scaring me. I jumped. Abbey pulled. Again, I laughed. Self-conscious that I was alone on this path and I was laughing out loud, alone, embarrassed me. That made me laugh more. I realized I was 'in the moment'.



This is Abbey...she walks with me.

Alice: How long is forever?
White Rabbit: Sometimes, just one second.
~Lewis Carrol

Enjoy the moments of your day!


photos by
signature.png
taken with iphone 6



I learned how to format from this post. Thank you @krnel !

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @countrygirl.

What a beautiful post.......well written with lovely photographs.

Cheers.

Thanks for visiting me again @bleujay. Glad you liked it :)

Beautiful photo and very well written text. Thanks for teaching me something knew and keep up the good work! :)

Thanks for taking the time to read my post @keks. Glad you learned something new :)

Abbey has such a soulful gaze - such a gentle spirit ...

This post has received a 23.90 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

Beautiful post and photography!

Glad you enjoyed it!

This post made my day

It did? How nice!

Sometimes you just need to laugh out loud it’s very good for us
I never knew that about wild parsnip

Me either, until I moved here. There's another weed that is spreading across Ontario. It's pretty big. Reminds me of the Day of the Triffids :)

It does have a Day of the Triffids feel doesnt it the plants taking back control

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $28.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

thanks for sharing your walk, it looks beautiful there

It is beautiful there - one of my favorite spots no matter the weather. Thanks for stopping by.

Those puppy brown eyes.... precious.

She is special. I've never had a dog like her before. More in tune than with any other dog. Although she's "John's dog", she's really mine - I train her so she's more in tune to my voice and what I'm doing. She acts like a person in a dog suit.

She acts like a person in a dog suit.

What a wonderful companion to have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44