mourning doves — the sound of peacesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)


We have a family of mourning doves living in our backyard. They like to gather under our evergreen tree. Unfortunately for them, our dog loves to chase them away.

They are used to her now and sit perched on our fence and entertain me with their beautiful lamenting song. Sounding similar to an owl with a long drawn out whooo whooo is a sound often associated with summertime.

I learned that mourning doves mate for life. They are peaceful birds and I welcome them into my yard.

I photographed this pair a while ago and played around with some editing in Lightroom just because I was feeling artsy today.

Hope you enjoy them.

listen to the mourning dove song - click here




2.png


1.png



the mourning doves song is peaceful and comforting
as the soft tread of rain
~John J Geddes



photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Processed in Lightroom




Mourning dove song - source

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @countrygirl.

These photographs are lovely......and a pleasure to the eye.

All the best. Cheers.

such beautiful gentle creatures, soft as the flutter of snow from a bough.

Your first photo could be a painting - it is so textured

Don't ask me for a step by step on how I achieved it....I couldn't tell you, although there is probably a record of it in Lightroom....still learning this program.

Thanks!

This post has received a 7.11 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @johnjgeddes.

I went through a large part of my life thinking they were called morning doves ;-)

Some think they are turtle doves too. I thought they were morning doves because I heard them in the morning, but they are mourning doves - their song certainly sounds like a lament.

Not just a comforting sound but a beautifully surreal blue! Congrats on being able to keep them. We always only get doves that are passing through.

I was surprised at how blue their beaks were along with some blue shading. From a distance they look to be all brown and grey tones. Regardless, I love them in my yard. The nice thing is they stay all winter too. :)

What subtly lovely coloration!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Aren't they though? I love backyard birds. Thanks for liking them too.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Oct 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $27.81 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59234.78
ETH 2525.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47