keep a little summer in your heart when the temperature is below zero

in #photography6 years ago


one must maintain a little bit of summer
even in the middle of winter
HD Thoreau


We took a country drive today just a little north from our house. The sky was blue and the sun was shining, a perfect day for a drive.

I wanted to capture some photos without having to step out into the frigid cold. I thought it would be easy to sit on my heated seat in our vehicle, open a window and get a few snowy images.

It was awkward straining out the window while wearing a puffy winter coat and trying to avoid the side view mirror while setting up a shot. I ended up getting out of the car and stepping by the side of the road.

Only problem — where I stepped was right into 3 feet of snow. My mukluks filled with white stuff causing my feet to instantly burn. As I leaned on the front hood of the car to steady my camera my husband decided that was the best time to move the car forward. He laughed hysterically. My face was too frozen to make my feelings known one way or the other.

When the wind picked up I could hardly push the shutter button and trying to focus was difficult because my eyes were blurring.

I did get in a few shots - 104 of them - and when we returned home I noticed I had the wrong settings on my camera. Some of the photos are okay but others are strange colors, sandy, sepia almost.

photos by
signature.png
Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

© all rights reserved


#challenge30days Writing Challenge hosted by @dragosroua


Sort:  

What a beautiful mood :) Love the second photo

Oh thank you @dieterschneider. I appreciate your input.

So pretty! Brrrr...

Hey....I haven't seen you in a while. Nice to see you now:) Thanks for stopping by.

I know! I took a break for a bit but it sure is good to see you again @countrygirl!

Thank you @tlester. Good to see you also.

I've done that with the wrong settings. Jim and I had a pact to remind each other to check settings before we started shooting! I've taken a lot of photos through the car window! You did great!

Oh these were the stepped outside of the car shots. !!! I'll be posting some more this week. I have to edit them. It was so cold out there today.....and the wind would gust up and I seriously couldn't move my face muscles!!! lol.

Wow. Beautiful. 50 years old here and never been in snow. I feel kind of guilty that I turned my AC off today... Blessings from Florida :)

Oh Florida.....I miss Florida. We do enjoy the four seasons but I also enjoy walks on the beach on Anna Maria Island.

Your husband has a weird sense of humour. You should have thrown a snowball at him.

I love the last photo of the snowy road and the blue shadows

No, my husband doesn't laugh at normal things. He only laughs when I hurt myself or if old ladies slip on the stairs while getting on a bus. Other than that he's normal.

I just love you two. hehehehe I like going back and forth in your writing and seeing glimpses of you both in each other's eyes :)

You should have been around here an hour ago......eeeeeeee It wasn't pretty.

I refuse to believe it!! Nay! I shan't! LOLOLOL

well....you know.....life :) And they lived happily ever after.....most of the time :)

i tease ;)
my "puppy" and I will be married 24 years in 12 days. I understand completely! hehehehe

I know you're teasing. 24 years eh....that's wonderful. Turn those numbers around and add 1....that's us.

How we suffer for our art!!! LOL

Well in your husband's defense, remember back at school, the guys always teased the girls they liked :)

Oh yes, yes. Annoying little boys. !!

Love the photo of the snowy road. Nice blue/grey shadows.

You know what's weird? I always try to get rid of the blue shadows....I stopped today and told myself that blue shadows are what snow has....and sometimes grey....and to let it be. The games we play with our creative minds.

It is the perfectionist showing! LOL I used to do that too and then I just gave up because I could never get rid of the blue shadows.

It's so sadly true. I have to let things go when they are good enough. So hard to be me :)

It is so beautiful in your neighborhood. I hope to see some snow in the next weeks when we are in France (Burgundy). There is no more snow at the moment, but it is still January, so who knows! I'm sorry about the failed photos, but fortunately, some of them succeeded, what you show us is beautiful.

I hope you get some snow too. It just makes everything fresh - just not too fresh please!! Driving around the country any time is always so beautiful and thankfully we aren't too far from it.

Thanks for your always beautiful and encouraging comments @clio.

I don’t think I’ve seen better than this

This is making me pine for snow. Its hot and humid where i live (New Zealand)

I heard!!! @trevor.george was telling me. I don't mind the heat, I just don't like the humidity. We get horrible heat and humidity in the summer. Southern Ontario is tropical for about two months.

I'd like to find a place where the temperature suits me best. Hope your humidity lifts soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62574.15
ETH 3443.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51