You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Acapulco Sunsets: Night Thoughts on Self Change

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Great photos. Liked the pensive nature of the post.

I can relate. For me, my demons are in the shithouse lately. They teach me important things, no doubt, but they only have power when they(my subconscious) knows something new and important that I don't.

In other words, when depression or anxiety attacks me, I call it a liar and revert back to positive. Depression is your mind lying to you. It calls you names and tears down your self-esteem because, in essence, depression is anger turned against the self.

All that nasty stuff isn't actually true, it's just anger. It seems unbreakable in its logic, but it's just shit-flinging. Why it is there in the first place, I have no idea. Still, I call it a liar. That's my most effective method of shutting depression down. Call your brain a liar when you're depressed and stop listening.

If you haven't tried Holy Basil and St. John's Wort, I would highly recommend it. Basil for anxiety, Wort for the demons.

Sort:  

I find part of why we get angry is there's often a kernel of truth in what is being flinged at us. I think the point is to work on the inner dialogue so that destructive behavior becomes more constructive. Look for kernels of truth and change the way you talk to yourself I think. A lot of times those things are true only because of mindset but mindset can poison us, especially if we are ignorant of possible important things.

Easier said than done though lol.

I think we're arriving at the same place with different tailored methods. That mutual place being to not focus on the heavy negative emotions but to learn from it, to grow with it.

Meditation a healthy diet and my wife abd family, more than anything, keeps my head above water

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.31