📸 Macro Photography - Cute Little Critters!

in #photography7 years ago

A showcase of some of my insect photography.


I am a regular flower photographer but never go out especially to capture bugs. They do cross my path though, and because I shoot macro with a flash rather than a tripod, it allows me to freeze frame these skittish little critters.

Kit.

All shots taken with my trusty Nikon D750 and Nikkor 105mm VR lens. Godox TT685, with X1 trigger when needed.

Lighting.

These shots are all lit with flash, though some are on camera and some are off-camera. Different modifiers are used too. In this top photo, you can see the reflection of the modifier in the water droplets - a Roundflash. Other modifiers I use are a Rayflash, sometimes a small umbrella which I bounce into. Bare flash is also quite forgiving in macro photography because a flash is still a reasonably large source compared to something as small as a flower or bug.


ScreenShot2016-08-10at23.31.38d96b5.png

1111111f238c.png

thefly2deb8.png

j692fa.png

4556465464.jpg

444444aa83a.png

33333323c6e.png

222222c17b5.png


Thanks for stopping by. I hope you enjoyed the shots. More macro work soon. As always, questions and comments are very welcome below. 💖


Sort:  

Wonderful macros @condra! I'll need to experiment with using the flash for macro during the day too. We have a slight difference of interests: I go out to take pictures of bugs and sometimes take pictures of flowers. :P

What settings are you using for aperture and shutter speed?
How far away do you have the flash?

Thanks for the kind words! The flash is usually on camera with Roundflash adapter, or off-camera with an assistant holding the flash (with modifier) about a foot or so above the subject. Aperture usually around f22, and shutter speed depends on how close I am. If I'm really close up, I'll shoot fast to kill ambient light. If I'm a little further out, I'll slow down the shutter to let some ambient light in. Essentially, I find camera shake is more evident from ambient light when you are extremely close up, but when the subject/area is a little bigger, I can get away with having some ambient in there.

Thanks for the in-depth reply. An assistant would be really handy, I felt I needed a few more arms when shooting the huntsman spider: flashhead with a flash light held on top (to focus the camera, AF doesn't like the dark) in my left hand with the camera in my right! Maybe a head lamp would be a good investment. Hopefully, I'll have some results to post in the next few days.
Thanks for the advice.

A head lamp sounds like a very handy tool yeah. Maybe an LED one so it's somewhat white balanced with daylight/flash. Incidentally, I've often thought about trying some handheld macro with strong continuous light sources as the sole lighting. Maybe some time.

I'll keep that in mind. :)

I've been toying with (reversed lens) macro lately.

Lighting is really the tricky part it seems. I have not used a flash so far, but without I usually have to open the aperture a bit too much, leaving me with almost no depth of field...

I'll have to try a flash next time!

My results so far are nothing compared to yours!

Don't be so humble. These are stunning shots you've done! Flash is handy in that it allows you to capture moving bugs with a small aperture like f22, but the look of the light is less natural. I'll be following your page closely and looking forward to seeing more of your work.

that's so kind of you! thanks for the encouragement!

I'll certainly post more soon. @stresskiller gave me a great link to a tutorial for the lens reversal trick. I am currently trying out shooting with an extension tube borrowed from an older camera to get even closer shots.
This of course also cuts out yet more light and I'd really need extra illumination to still reliably get decent exposures.

Here's a sneak-preview of my tests yesterday:

fly.jpg

your great photographer! ANd the last one is just perfect love the colours!

Thanks so much! Having a good look at your page now. Lots of fantastic creative posts. I'll be paying more attention to your work in future. Greets!

Just like I'll be paying to your profile! Glad I found you fellow artist! Wishing you lovely artistic day! :) Thank you!

These are amazing @condra! I have never explored macro photography very much, aside from occasionally playing around with some extension tubes. These are so different from your work with models, really cool to see!

Those are great, I love good micros and these are great.
Keep it up mate.

I would love to leave a very informative reply but all I can say is wow - love the detail

minute detals are visible.great photography

Flowers are gorgeous!

Nice series.

Amazing macro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62863.58
ETH 2464.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62