📷 Critters In My Garden - A Reversed-Lens Macro Experiment | 5 Original PicturessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

macro_thumb.jpg

Browsing steemit the other day, I was reminded of a trick I had long forgotten.

Reversing the lens back-to-front turns it into an amazing magnifying macro lens.

There are special adaptors that allow mounting the lens this way, but you can also simply hold it with your hands like I did.

I was shooting with a cheap vintage 1:1.7 55mm Auto Revuenon lens and the effect wasn't as great as I had hoped, but it still produced some pretty nice results.

Credit where credit is due. It was @stresskiller who made me rediscover this nifty trick when he mentioned it in one of his first posts. If you enjoy macro photography you should give this guy a follow, he posts quality macros relentlessly and has a huge archive of original work!

Now let me show you how my experiment turned out:

macro_hopper1.jpg

macro_hopper2.jpg




This tiny grasshopper was busy eating the flower petals.

I don't think I've ever noticed his kind before today.

Isn't it great how photography helps you notice and discover things you'd otherwise overlook!

macro_fly.jpg

A fly enjoying a sip of fresh nectar.

macro_spider.jpg

macro_spider2.jpg

This spider is protecting my tomatoes from aphids.

You can almost make out that it's just in the process of eating a black-fly.

All these images are cropped from the original frame to feature the subjects prominently enough. I'd love to be able to see more detail (like the blackfly) but I need to try a different lens for that!

Lighting and good exposure can be tricky in this setup, too. Maybe a flash could bring some extra shine to the images.

I'll definitely have to give this experiment another round!


That's all for now!

thanks for your attention, upvotes and resteems!


follow @fraenk

it's free

Sort:  

I really love macro pictures and I have to say your attempt turned out quite well ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fraenk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

ha fraenk good to see that i got you out of your chair :D and thank you for mentioning , nice attempt i must say , be aware of dust bunnies they show very easy when you reverse you can simply clone them out in lightroom

the results magnification using reversed lens will be better on a 35 or 28 mm lensthen with a 55 mm lens i found a nice link for you :)
thelens it self can be bought on ebay for +/- less then $50 ,-

http://www.cs.mtu.edu/~shene/DigiCam/User-Guide/A95/Close-Up/Reversal.html

awesome... thanks for the link, and yes, especially for getting me out of my chair!!

dust bunnies

that sounds so cute, I almost want them now!

Absolutely beautiful shots.

thanks so much... I've got room for improvement though ;) you're out of luck when it comes to that! :P

Love the pictures! there never seems to be a shortage of things to photograph in the garden, always something interesting happening. Upvoted & resteemed!

Thanks for the kindness @flusterfarm!

This is so cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78