Nature Flash #6 - A Pair of Monarchs Caught in the Act

in #photography7 years ago

It's funny how when you research something you're doing a Steemit post on, your brain suddenly sees this item more easily going forward.

And so it is for me with milkweed and the monarch butterflies' dependence on it. My brain now easily spots milkweed out in a field, whereas a few months ago it likely wouldn't have even registered.

Today, I spent my lunch hour chasing monarch butterflies though a soaking wet meadow that was chock full of milkweed and other growth that was often taller than I am.

And even though milkweed production has dropped off in recent decades due to things like herbicides, New Jersey still has plenty of milkweed and you do sometimes see monarch butterflies.

Today was one of those days and I'd like to share some cool captures of a pair of monarchs engaged in their mating ritual.

It was amazing to watch these two soulmates as the male monarch was able to fly away with his female partner attached and in tow! I'm pretty sure that the male monarch does cross-fit.


Here are a few of my recent Steemit posts on milkweed:

This article can explain the monarch reproduction details far better that I can: University of Minnesota: Monarch Lag: Reproduction

And here's a short YouTube video on monarch reproduction , courtesy of Ilse Knatz Ortabasi:

Follow me @cognoscere



















All images @cognoscere and taken on Tuesday 07/25/2017 at Thompson Park Longbridge Annex in Lincroft, New Jersey (Sony RX100 V)

STEEMIT_750_Followers.png

Sort:  

Amazing shots of them both, I love capturing them too. I had a catapiller on my milkweed last month and now I have Monarchs flying about my gardens. I love seeing them here. Their numbers have dwindled in the past few years. Thanks for sharing this awesome post!

i like this things in steemit @cognoscere

So beautiful , I love butterfly's , they seem so peaceful (:

Awesome shots!! Glad to see at least some monarch butterflies despite the decrease in milk weed! I hope your pants dried before you went back to work!

Amazing that you were able to get so close to those butterflies, usually they flitter away. I guess they were distracted! Thanks

@cognoscere,
A set of great nature photography is there! it's really hard to find matting images of butterflies and you have done it! Really appreciate your effort and you got a new fan too.

Cheers~

Gorgeous shots of the mating ritual. Great you got to see it and take such clear photos. Particularly since they are getting harder to find.
I know what you mean about the eye/brain training. I used to do weed surveys, and after awhile you can pick out a certain plant at 55mph off the side of the road. Or see them in your sleep. Thanks for the nice view of the butterfly's and their milkweeds.

you clicked it at the Perfect moment
Great effort

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50