Christmastime in NYC 2016 - [Part 2: In and Around Bryant Park]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

This is part two in this series on Christmastime in New York City 2016. In this post I'll be sharing some of the images I captured in and around Bryant Park.

Google Maps ☛ Bryant Park is the rectangle that is perimetered by 5th and 6th Avenues and West 40th and West 42nd Streets in the heart of Midtown Manhattan.

This time of year, it's a nice place to do a little shopping, have a bite to eat, or maybe relax with an adult beverage or a nice cup of hot cocoa.

You can ice skate within the park's large rink, or people-watch as most of the others "attempt" to ice skate. And there's always the rogue "pro-wanna-be" type that weaves in and out of the crowd at break-neck speed to show off some skills.


The park also displays a very nice Christmas Tree which is a favorite selfie stop with its view of the New York Public Library in the background.


A few facts about Bryant Park (courtesy of Wikipedia):

  • It sits on almost 10 acres of land.
  • In 1884, Reservoir Square was renamed Bryant Park, to honor the New York Evening Post editor and abolitionist William Cullen Bryant.
  • The backdrop of the park along its 5th Avenue boundary is the New York Public Library.
  • Bryant Park is located entirely over an underground structure that houses the New York Public Library's stacks, which were built in the 1980s when the park was closed to the public and excavated; the new library facilities were built below ground level while the park was restored above it.

Related posts:


Here are some photos taken on the walk towards Bryant Park.

Truely homeless, there was nobody there.


West 38th Street and some Avenue. I noticed that the city painted many of the utility poles and traffic signals with some kind of highly-textured black paint. Yuck!


NYC soft pretzels are second only to Philly 😜


Not everybody was relaxing and taking in the sights.


Going to say a prayer?


The following images were taken at Bryant Park.



STAGE-LEFT: The Empire State Building.
STAGE-RIGHT: The black and gold Bryant Park Hotel.


View of the many small vendor booths.


You couldn't avoid Santa this weekend!



The one-year-old, 30-story 7 Bryant Park building.


Christmas ornament shop.



Facing the New York Public Library.


Later in the evening, someone photographing a Bride on the front steps of the New York Public Library.


The photo shoot has ended, but the candles remain lit.

All images @cognoscere and taken in NYC on Saturday December 10, 2016
Sony RX100 V

Sort:  

Well where do I start? Your photog skills have improved so much....I'm jealous....:) You've outdone yourself on this NYC trip. I felt like sensory overload though - I'm terrible in crowds.
I love love the black and whites you are doing....great depth and perspective and creativity.
The candles on the steps of the library were so pretty....lucky bride!!
The Bryant Park Bldg with the Christmas tree painted or lit up the side? I wonder if I would have noticed that one!
I love the skaters, the shoppers, the Santas....was so surprised to see more than one - my beliefs are totally dashed now.
No one home on the homeless person's spot...made me giggle, but not in a haha way - just an ironic one...then I felt sorry for them being homeless.
Thanks for sharing your trips!

Wow, thanks for such kind words @countrygirl. Yes, it can definitely become sensory overload after an entire day in the Big Apple. I honestly don't know how so many people can commute to NYC from Central Jersey? It would be fun for a while, for sure, but not as a long term thing.

The antithesis to it is at 3:35 into this video clip from BrooklynnCA whose LandmarkAdventures YouTube channel has a great series on hiking the John Muir Trail:

Ya, I'd say she is a tad stressed or has "issues".....she's kind of manic.

Great photos! I especially like that last shot, your old camera would have had trouble with that one!

Thanks @daveks. I'm really enjoying the RX100 so far! We were lucky to stumble on that wedding shoot on our long walk back to Penn Station. I think I drove my wife a little crazy though for stopping to photograph so often ;-)

I really miss them. I'm coming back to manhattan here thanks to you. Thank you for sharing.

Great photos!
I like last shot, too.
If I had the chance, I would like to go to that park in New York.

I could feel the warm from here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64