Riverwalkin' in B+W

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I've discovered something really important that, I believe, is going to make my photography 10x better.

I need to shoot with headphones on.

Let me explain.

My camera, Sony a5000, has this god awful shutter sound (even though it's a mirrorless?) and it always tips people off that I'm taking photos of them. As I typically prefer to be invisible and get candid shots, this is a problem. I'm constantly worried about if my subject heard the shutter and is about to wheel around and yell at me.

Yesterday I went out to shoot while listening to music. I turned it up loud and went to the street. I never heard the shutter so I didn't notice if it may have been loud enough to alert my subjects.

Problem solved. For now.

Here are the results...

Cowboy-2.jpg

Cowboy-1.jpg

Cowboy-3.jpg

Cowboy-4.jpg

Cowboy-5.jpg

Cowboy-6.jpg

Cowboy-8.jpg

Cowboy-7.jpg

Cowboy-9.jpg

Cowboy-10.jpg

Cowboy-11.jpg

Cowboy-12.jpg

Cowboy-13.jpg

Cowboy-14.jpg

Cowboy-15.jpg

I really like all the textures in this one. Cabbie above me leaned over the railing, didn't catch his face but it makes the cut for textures.
Cowboy-16.jpg

Cowboy-17.jpg


Feedback? Comments? Which one is your favorite/least favorite from this series?

Thanks for stoppin' by! I truly appreciate it!

-Chrissy

Sort:  

Nice silhouette under the bridge. If someone notices just scowl at them as if they're actually in the way of your shot rather than the subject. Works everytime ;)

lmao good call!

Nice shots, love the framing! Now you only need to take it one step further: catch the face! I know it can be embarassing but most of the people don't mind or just want to know where the pic will end up... Keep up the good work!

Haha yeah, I think not having the shutter in my head will help. Going out again today, so more to come soon! Thanks for the kind words, I appreciate it! Do you do photography as well?

As another commenter pointed out, catching people's faces makes for a better shot. This creates a problem though - if people see that you are pointing the camera in their direction, you will no longer be taking a candid shot (unless the person is ashamed or infuriated). So I'd suggest taking people's faces only if you can do so without them noticing - even if they do after that (just have an online portfolio of your best shots, so they know you're a photographer and not a stalker).

Something else - make sure to straighten your photos in post editing and possibly crop out distracting elements.

That said, I find most of the photos quite interesting - keep it up, and don't forget you are doing this for fun!

Man, @dek thanks for this feedback. I really really appreciate it! All for fun! And yeah, I'm gonna start pointing people here if they get suspicious haha
The actual sounds in my camera, like button pressing and things like that, are turned off but I can't seem to find a way to get the shutter to go away. Anyways I'll need to get over it regardless.

Again, thanks for the advice! I really appreciate it!

Not a problem! Glad to have found your page and enjoy more street photography :)

Likewise! Trying to find more street photographers here, do you have any favorites on the site?

I don't remember all user names, but I do subscribe to their feeds - I can certainly recommend @foxkoit and @phoblographer :)

Good shout. @foxkoit is one of my favs! & I just recently found @phoblogapher's feed, but great work and feedback as well!

One more thing - I'm certain there's a setting to turn off your camera's sounds.

I like this first photo... this is very good.

Thanks @foxkoit! I appreciate that! If your eye likes it, then I know I'm doin' something right haha

Every single thing that you do, teaches you something new, I not see.... that you have done something wrong.

Nice pictures, following you now :)

The pics of the guy with the cowboy hat reminds me of scenes from the movie Midnight Cowboy. Then it reminds me of the theatre scene and makes me laugh.

Well I'm glad it made you smile lol I haven't seen Midnight Cowboy, ever! So I'm not sure the scene you mean

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66996.44
ETH 3098.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72