Springs and Mills in the Ozarks

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_5859 (2).jpg

I have a slight obsession with springs and waterfalls, just something about the energy of flowing water, not to mention it is a vital life source! So grateful to live in the Ozarks, were we have an abundance of them, and one of the largest springs in the world (I will put up pictures of that one later). I like to visit at least one place I have not been to in the Ozarks every year. There is so many around this area I do not have to travel far for adventure and exploration. Sauntering out in nature just gives me that sense of connection and peace, and I love experiencing and capturing the beauty of this world.

IMG_5875 (2).jpg

There is often an old mill, or the remnants of one, and a small community that once lived and loved around the water source. The place in the above picture is Alley Springs Mill and is now apart of the Ozark National Scenic River ways. You can look for a picture of it on the back of the United States quarters, which were just released last year. The first picture is taken off a short trail that loops around the spring and mill, and is the beginning of the spring branch which flows into the Jacks Fork river about a half a mile down stream.

IMG_5902 (2).jpg

I bring my dog with me when I go hiking, so I did not get any pictures of the inside of the mill since he was not allowed inside. That was totally ok with us, not gripping a bit, there was so much to see and places to wander around outside of the mill. Here is some history of the mill if you would like to look into it further. https://www.nps.gov/ozar/learn/historyculture/alley-mill.htm

IMG_5901 (2).jpg

Alley Springs is the 7th largest in Missouri, reaching 155ft deep and discharging 81 millions gallons every day! more info on the spring here https://nature.mdc.mo.gov/discover-nature/places/alley-spring

Sort:  

...Welcome!!!...

Hey welcome chelsea!!! Be sure to do an #introduceyourself post soon so people know who ya are! I have a pretty good idea who ya are tho!

Ok! I will tonight when I get to my laptop. You’ve been here 365 days, and this is my first day posting! Excited though, now to just get the hang of it all and learn more about kryptocurrency, Steem power, bsd, etc... Can’t wait!

Awesome!! I can definitely help point you in the right direction!!!

That would be great!

Welcome to Steemit! I love Alley Springs! So pretty :)

Thank you, it is definitely beautiful.

Wow, @sallyswitchblade, are you in the Ozarks too?

I am from Mountain View, Missouri, but I currently live in Holts Summit outside Jefferson City.

I'm not too familiar with Jefferson City, but I do know where Mountain View is!

Hey @chelseamcadam! I found you from a post you're tagged in by @mountainjewel, bioregionalism. They listed homesteaders in the Ozarks, where we are from also, and I wanted to reach out and say hello!

I love all your pictures! When family comes to visit, my husband, @freedompoint, and I love to take them to Alley Springs!

Congratulations @chelseamcadam! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29