New Zealand Adventures II

No matter how well I plan my trips, there's almost a guarantee that I'll be rushing to get to a location in time for the sunrise (most of the time is from hitting that 10min snooze button). I was on my way to a spot looking out towards the famous Mt Cook in New Zealands south island where I experienced one of these moments again.

Looking out to the right side of my window I could see the sky absolutely bursting with colour - colours as intense as you could ever witness.

Untitled_Panorama1.jpg

Deciding to cut my losses I quickly pulled over to the side of the road to try and come up with a decent composition. Not the most interesting foreground but it was still an incredible moment to witness, and definitely a sunrise I won't be forgetting.

5K7A2034.jpg

If you look really closely you can see Mt Cook in the distance (really closely).
5K7A2037 copy.jpg

Another shot from the early stage of sunrise - along the shores of Lake Pukaki.
5K7A2046.jpg

Lake Tekapo is one of those must see location if you visit NZ. In the warmer seasons the shores surround the lake (well actually, everywhere) is covered in Lupins..these are literally everywhere and make for a beautiful sight.
5K7A2331-2.jpg

It was on the shores of Lake Tekapo that I witnessed the most intense and incredible display of light. It had been a largely overcast and wet day. Spent a good amount of time on the shoreline twiddling my thumbs and had actually decided to head back to my hotel since there was zero indication of any light peaking through the thick clouds. I had actually dumped my gear on the ground in my room, casually glancing at my window...and seeing the whole sky light up in an orange glow. It was one of those sunsets that just imbued the atmosphere with this brilliant light.

5K7A2245.jpg

As the sun set it it changed from an intense orange to a beautiful magenta.
5K7A2258.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @chasethemoments! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @chasethemoments! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44