Sea Otters In Alaska

in #photography7 years ago

Here is a set of photos from a trip back in October to Seward, Alaska.

I walked out onto the boat dock and was enjoying the beautiful sunshine when, out of the corner of my eye, I saw something darting around the water. As I moved closer I realized it was a sea otter! It was weaving under the dock and around the boats that were tied up. Just then I spotted another! They played with each other in a way that you may mistake for fighting. They would dunk each others heads under water back and forth for about 5 minutes and then act like they were taking a shower. It was so funny to watch and amazing to get so close to them.


image-text
ISO 125 - f/2.8 - 1/800 sec


One of the otters had a fish and he kept watching me, probably thinking I would try to steal it. Here you can see the otters taking a break from roughhousing to clean themselves. It really looked like they had just put shampoo on and were washing their hair!

image-text
ISO 125 - f/2.8 - 1/1000 sec


Just as curious about me as I was of him. Be sure to always respect the distance of wildlife and don't intrude on their space. I kept a safe distance on the boat dock and never touched the water.

image-text
ISO 125 - f/2.8 - 1/800 sec


Seward is located about 2 hours south of Anchorage. It was named after William H. Seward, a man who negotiated the deal for America to purchase Alaska. The town is surrounded by massive mountains on one side and the ocean on the other. Covering the mountain is a beautiful dense forest. In the summer it's not uncommon to see whales in the bay and sea otters like these by the dozens.

image-text
ISO 125 - f/2.8 - 1/1000 sec


image-text
ISO 125 - f/2.8 - 1/800 sec


There were also quite a few birds enjoying the beautiful weather. The water in Seward is some of the most pristine I have ever encountered. Even by Alaska standards.

image-text
ISO 125 - f/2.8 - 1/1250 sec


Thank you for reading! I hope you're enjoying my stories from Alaska. I have so much more to share and I'm looking forward to hearing your thoughts. I want to thank everyone for the massive amount of support in my first weeks of using steemit. This is a really great platform and an even better community :)

  • Chase
Sort:  

Great job friend...

Beautiful shots Chase! I feel like the calm water really compliments the calm animals! So pretty :)
And I am definitely enjoying your Alaska photos! Keep up the great posting :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ChaseBurnett from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great shots! Digging those blues!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 23:03:35
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 97.95/100.00
Total Photos: 12
Total comments: 35
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looking at the pictures I felt as relaxed as the animals haha

hey @chaseburnett! Alaska seems an amazing place. How blue is the water?! Seems very clear and cold. Otters look like old men :) I've seen a video of them carrying their baby on their belly and so they were floating together on the water.

They look like water puppers.

I encountered one in Estonia, in the sea while swimming. Girls got scared and ran out of water, but they are harmless and lovely animals haha :D

I've been following your blog for a while now, and I pretty much enjoy all of the articles, but this is my favorite so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76