iPhone Photography Series - #1

in #photography7 years ago

In an effort to inspire others and show that you do not need a full DSLR to take great pictures, I’m starting a series about phone photography. All images were captured on an iPhone 6s and edited in VSCO. No external accessories or lenses were used for any of these photos. (The photo of myself sitting on the ledge was captured by a friend I met while hiking and edited by me).

Phone camera sensors are SMALL. Because of this, the digital noise that is introduced during low light shooting can be extremely detrimental. With phone photography you want to ensure your camera can gather enough light to produce a clean image. Unlike full sized DSLRs, the images produced from phones do not have a lot of room in terms of manipulating the exposure after the shot. Always try get your desired exposure set before taking the picture.

The great thing about phone photography is that you are restricted to one focal length (or two on newer phones). This requires you to move your feet to obtain the composition you want. You are much more involved with the subject than if you were to stand in one place and just zoom the lens.


B827A6B0-43F3-46EC-B2EC-AF7193979D74.jpeg
Eklutna Lake, Alaska


0A690B48-7236-43F5-B082-E6834FBA4D58.jpeg
North Shore, Oahu


E2C0FCD2-9824-4C1E-A92D-757DF5723AEA.jpeg
Kaena Point, Oahu


27D6E1FE-0ADD-4CA8-A562-120E27BA906F.jpeg
Above Oahu


The best camera is the one you have with you. Even if you can’t afford a high quality smartphone, you can really take great photos with anything. Buy a disposable camera, shoot film, or pick up a secondhand camera. Any camera is better than no camera. If you are able to convey emotion, tell a story, or capture a moment, you have succeeded as a photographer.

As I continue this series I will be sharing tips and tricks that I have learned about phone photography. I hope you can learn something from these posts or simply get inspired to go out and take more photos.

Thank you for reading! I’d love to see your smartphone photography!

Chase

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing this! Usually I just have my smartphone with me (easier to carry with you than "normal" camera). So truly waiting for yours tips.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 01:59:33
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 242.66/400.00
Total Photos: 25
Total comments: 72
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.64 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Incredible pictures...

This is magical in every way. I want to touch a mountain so bad and see it's jaw dropping views from top to bottom. In the meantime though, I'll devour up you pictures with my needy eyes! Keep traveling on and exploring the world! Have a great day !

I have the extinct iphone 4s and I think it takes fabulous photos, it's practical but almost the guy wants to die, he has taken most of my photos posted on my blog, really good that you show, we can be professionals without camera :)
Excuse my English use translator

I like the mission behind this series. A few of my favorite memories and shots were taken with really old cameras or cell phone cameras. I actually remember a few shots I made with my first phone, and LG Dare, which wasn't really even a smartphone, just a feature phone with a touch screen and a 1.3 MP camera. Things have come a long way!

Sir, 😘thanks for your information

beautiful nature is something that is difficult for us to express, maybe only we can we say with words, this nature is very beautiful to be enjoyed

¡Que buen trabajo! Excelente fotografía.

You just planted 0.30 tree(s)!


Thanks to @chaseburnett

We have planted already 4257.79 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20766.99
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

I have never been able to capture shots like this with my iPhone....some can, but not me. These are lovely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54