Signs of Life, It is Indeed Spring! | Tulips, Evergreens, and Assorted Sprouts

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Fancy
Despite the fact that one day it is below freezing, and then the next day warm enough for a t-shirt, some plants outside are beginning to show themselves. The tulips have been slowly sprouting for a few weeks now, and nothing has been able to stop them yet. Not snow, rain, wind, or temperature.
Single
They provide a nice range of colors before the garden is ready for the standard annuals and perennials. What we do is have these sprout and flower early in the season, and once they are done, we buy flats of flowers to plant. Some of these flowers do seed themselves for the next year, but Michigan is just too cold for most of them to be perennials.
Single
One major thing that I like about bulbs are the fact that they don't need replanting each season. The annuals we buy have to be purchased and replanted every year, but these tulips come back over and over again. This ends up providing a much more worry free experience.
Tube shaped
It would be nice to have the the tulips come up, have some standard perennials come up, and then some late season flowers to finish off the gardening season. This way the whole garden would be filled with plants that come back each year. They would just need the standard care, and any over-wintering care.
Funnel shaped
All of the empty shells and nuts are from our bird and squirrel feeder that is above on the tree. It is impossible to keep the left overs cleaned up.
Small group
This must be one of the larger bulbs that grew a few baby tulips.
Tree backdrop
fancy
I have ended up with a couple fancy leaf tulips. I am pretty sure this is one of them. We also had some that had ruffled flowers, and multiple colored flowers.
Bulb
This one is a different type of bulb. I am thinking they are some sort of allium. I have different ones planted so it is hard to tell right now.
Plant
I don't know if this is a flower we have planted or not. Either way, it is still some green life within the still gray outdoors.
Small
I know this one is a wild growing plant, but once again, it is some sign of life.
Evergreen
I've had this Arborvitae evergreen for a few years now, and it has over doubled in size.
Bugs
Boxelder bugs are beginning to come out. I love insects, and I keep many of them, but these become a nuisance. They stay on the side of the house, and cause the siding to get stained. They belong in the true insects group. This means that they go from egg to nymph to adult, and the nymph just keeps shedding to grow in size until it is adult size. Then it sheds one last time to gain the adult features.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.45 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Very fond of tulips. We have a lot of tulips in the garden.


Hi @sfreidsma, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Great pics! I'm in Michigan too and its been a long winter...especially when it keeps teasing Spring!! I followed you :)

It does look like spring is underway in Michigan! When I lived in Michigan, there were winters that lasted into April. I like the tulips with the fancy leaves. Does yours have red flowers? I think most of those kinds do, but I'm not positive about that. They make good perennial tulips. Happy Spring!

These last couple winters have been wacky. Usually the winters do last until April, but this winter we didn't even have snow on the ground for most of it. All of the rivers are really low and everything because of it.

I know some of these are red, but I don't know if this fancy one is.

You have no idea how happy I am to feel spring after a freezing winter in Europe. It was a difficult one for me after 16 years tropical lifestyle. I can smell your pictures :)

That does have to seem bad. I am assuming that you mean you lived in a more tropical region.

I've been in Michigan my whole life and still don't enjoy the winters.

I lived in Bali since 1999 and had to move back to my home town Vienna Austria to take care of my mother. Anyways I enjoy spring and can't wait for the European summer .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50