Daily haiku and writing prompt (April 18, 2019)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)
Somwehere in the Mediterranean Sea
EXIF DATA
Camera: Nikon D600 - Lens: Nikkor 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6
ISO 100 - Focal length: 70mm - Aperture: f/8 - Exposure time: 1/125s
Haiku #27

Hand chiseled in stone,
darkness slowly creeping in--
pilgrims tarried here

©2018 Cendrine Marrouat

When you take the time to visit a city as old as Toulouse is, you always find interesting details.

I used to walk by the hand in this photo almost every day when I lived in my hometown. For years, I thought that it was related to the pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostella. Toulouse is one of the major stops along the Arles Way, which starts in Arles. (Hence the reference to pilgrims in my haiku.)

My research revealed something different. The hand is actually a blazon. It belongs to a house likely built for an important local nobleman in the 16th century. It is genuine and has never been repaired!

Your turn now! Write a haiku, six-word story or short poem based on the image above. If you prefer publishing the piece on your blog, please link to this prompt there. For example: Poem inspired by Cendrine Marrouat's daily visual prompt.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://creativeramblings.com/poetry/daily-haiku-and-writing-prompt-27/
Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54