Wild Cock Appeared

in #photography5 years ago

DSC_0437 Custom.jpg

See that? That is a pheasant who I think has gotten slightly lost from his natural habitat to the neighborhood of us humans. Don't know how he ended up here, though living in Finland the nature is always close – one time my friend saw a moose casually strolling in the suburbs. It still feels out of place and against your typical schemas though, because I live in a small city of Kerava, right at the edge of the Helsinki metropolitan area, so not like in the middle of nowhere.

DSC_0446_01 Custom.jpg

DSC_0448 Custom.jpg

DSC_0452 Custom.jpg

I managed to get quite close to the fella, because he cornered himself and had to come close by me to run away.

DSC_0457_02 Custom.jpg

DSC_0460_01 Custom.jpg

I don't think I've ever even seen a pheasant in real world, it's a cool looking bird though. I think this was now also my first time doing animal photography (excluding humans) with the Nikon D5200 camera.

Sort:  

Awesome! Reminds me of a pheasant cock who used to stroll around my parents house in New Zealand. Beautiful feathers, especially around his neck. Those long tail feathers used to be part of the Hungarian police uniforms a century ago, though they look so much better on the bird!

Those long tail feathers used to be part of the Hungarian police uniforms a century ago

Oh, that's interesting. I agree though, much better on the bird.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ooooh. Oooh. Oh.

Am I the only one who thinks 'Wild Cock' would be a great superhero name?

I'm just trying to imagine what it would look like 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm trying not to!!! 😯😆

Wild cocks are the best, aren't they.

Heh, for sure.

I love photography is always important to go out with camera in hand to not disapprove this type of events. God bless you, beautiful images.

is always important to go out with camera in hand to not disapprove this type of events.

Definitely! You never know when something interesting appears.

This is awesome! I'm always glad to see humans have not completely flushed out nature from our built up areas. I see deer once in a while on my walks in the parks. It makes me so happy!

I think this was now also my first time doing animal photography (excluding humans)

This cracked me up! 😂

This cracked me up! 😂

Gotta be specific enough with my words, otherwise there's going to be that one guy going like: "actually, I see you have taken pictures of humans, aka. homo sapiens, which is an animal in the same as any other, so what you're saying is incorrect."

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, you're right. I'd like to think HomoSteemiens (@celestal term :) ) aren't dicks like that.. but ya, there's always one, right?! :D I get ya.

Just a preventive measure. Indeed, most homo steemians are good folk :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice shot. The camera must be great because it looknso sharp

It is pretty good. Some editing was done to these, but of course the quality must be good beforehand, too, to have a good end result.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @celestal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.397 which ranks you at #2357 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 200 contributions, your post is ranked at #93.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 84.22% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @celestal! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64258.95
ETH 3170.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55