We Listen With Our Eyes

in #photography6 years ago

~ Tree Tuesday ~


1.jpg

Here in the woods, there is a special tree stump that I have enjoyed looking at as I walk by. At first, the stump only had a spot of vivid green moss visible from under the cold depths of snow that surrounded and encased it.

2.jpg

This stump always seemed to catch my eye as I passed on by! It wasn't the vivacious green in the white landscape that was so unique. Many of the trees and stumps and stones around here are Mossy, which I find to be very cool!

3.jpg

But, once the snow melted away some... I was pretty shocked to see how much of this fellow has rotted away this Winter! This stump has a very peculiar and distinguishable trait that when coated in furry green moss is accentuated perfectly, especially, when the snow covers almost all other things to be seen in the vicinity!

4.jpg

The overhanging sapwood looks pretty intact around the top... but you can see straight through to the heartwood underneath! I really tried to capture the oddity of the image. It is nature though and if things age as fast in a Swedish Winter as they do in a Texas Summer... it shouldn't be so odd to me or offer much of a surprise, but it does!

5.jpg

I really appreciate how old and gnarly nature is here in Sweden!

6.jpg

Remember, I mentioned a unique feature about this stump? Well, I never specified what that unique quality was! Until now... I have actually hidden this attribute with my choice of camera angles!

7.jpg


The Reveal!

Go back and look but this stump is actually in the shape of a crescent moon! Very fitting considering today is the Spring Equinox and as I write this line I can see the Waxing Crescent Phase of the Moon right outside the window!

8.jpg

9.jpg

9a.jpg

Sometimes, I look at a stump and wonder what might have been or what was! Trees seem timeless to me in many ways. How many Winters had this stump been alive to see? How many years did it take for this stump to wither and die away? How much life is thriving off of what once was and yet is no more? I wonder how long this stump stood tall as a giant of the forest before being cut down to size? What stories would this ancient being have to share if only there had been someone to listen?

Now, We Listen With Our Eyes!


&
STEEM ON MY FRIENDS

I really liked the way the shots came out as a whole and I truly hope you enjoyed my contribution to the #TreeTuesday initiated by @old-guy-photos. These photographs were taken with a Galaxy Note smartphone!

Sort:  

Haha, amazing report and travel around the stump. You distracted us from the whole truth very nicely. You took amazing shots as always and also sent a nice message : "Not all you see is the whole thruth" and you may be biased by your point of view. Humilty aproach and opened mind would do it.
My best wishes for the remaining week, hugs

Thanks Draker for taking the time to check it out and appreciate the message. I really like the way you put it. I feel like the stump did most of the talking... and the title was pretty fitting. I like the humility and open mind you bring to the table when you give your thoughts on many of my posts! Thank you.
Keep On Steemin On My Friend! =)

I really think you did an outstanding job on this. Not only the pic but the words as well. So happy to see you post to the tag!

That means a lot to me! I am thankful you took the time to come check it out and actually read it! =) This has been one of my favorite tags since the beginning!
Keep On Steemin On My Friend!

Great photos of that very cool stump, but that moss is incredible!

I thought so too! It was even more neon looking in person. I never feel like the camera captures that enough. Thanks for stopping by! =)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 19:05:19
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 321.15/200.00
Total Photos: 57
Total comments: 9
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wow Wonderful Photograpy Gread Post Dear
I Like Your Post Thanks For Sharing.

Thanks for stopping by dear!

The old stumps live on it's like the tree lives on and just gets pretty by displaying itself into a beautiful graceful healthy looking stump.

Yes, stumps need love too! Your Banyan Tree post was pretty cool! I used to have a bonsai banyan tree. I miss that little fellow!
Steem On My Friend!

Thank you my friend i love my trees and bonsai to so much character in them :)

You are more than welcome! I have really come to love and appreciate trees. My Banyan Bonsai had an aerial root descending that was awesome. I was sad when I lost that one. I believe it was my first bonsai. Definitely won't be my last!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66369.39
ETH 3585.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59