Serenity on the Beach

in #photography8 years ago

Imgur

Keeping it together nowadays is hard, for everybody. The stress of an ever more demanding economy, mixed with international tension, and being short changed by an awful education system (at least in Amerika) has left a lot of on edge, or jumping off. I don't know about you, but I could barely handle it. When I lived in Baltimore everyday was just shit, a job that I was assigned which I didn't want to do. Leaving the house was something I never wanted to do. There was no where to go. When I did go outside people would scream at me from cars, or the police would stop me and question me for looking shady, as I was clad in true gangster apparel: loafers without socks, cut off blue khaki shorts I made myself, and a shirt with a design inspired by Gabriel Marquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude. But now there is a reason to go outside! More than that, there are reasons! And there are times I certainly feel unsafe, as this city has some unsavory characters, but it also has, within city limits, the beach.

Imgur

As a young un I hardly ever got to leave my home, so all I'm used to is a creek and the greenery that grew around it. After that it was the bay of Baltimore, which is grey, sloggy, and pretty dismal to be honest. But here, finally, is the beach. That real place where people go to not give a shit. It feels so much less phony than east coast beach culture, which is more about being loud and getting fucked up than anything else.

Imgur

It makes me feel like a dork for still being in awe so often here, but there's just something about finally finding people to have pleasant conversation with that's been life changing. Kindness has been something I've always craved, and certainly it probably exists where I came from, but I can find it here. I can feel it here. It doesn't feel like an endless search for someone who has the time for a conversation.

Imgur

So I'm really grateful to be here, especially so that I get to rent a room from my best friend's father. Much of those skills you're supposed to pick up in childhood I never did, so having someone that's raised a couple kids is a good way to catch up. I'm thinking about learning to drive here too, so if California is where I learn how to cook, where I get my first serious job, where I get my first place, where I get in shape, and where I learn how to drive, then this place will be what made me a man.

Imgur

Thanks for reading my rambling, fam. I'm a quiet guy, so it's nice to have an outlet. I'll end this with a few more pictures. My camera is a canon rebel t5. Love ya'll.

twitter

Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur
Imgur

Sort:  

Great photos - looks like a helluva place to escape to. You should take up surfing.

It is, and I've been thinking about it! Surfing is one of those perfectly chill sports. My only issue with it is a fear of ocean critters :P.

Congratulations @carlyle! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @carlyle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64118.76
ETH 3519.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55