Okanagana Cicada

in #photography7 years ago

Ran into this beauty in my yard the other day. This is the first cicada I have seen in Oregon in my 16 years here! It is in the Okanagana genus, you can't see the symmetrical markings on its back in this picture but they were there: http://www.cicadamania.com/cicadas/category/genera/okanagana/

20170726_131352.jpg

Sort:  

i am very afraid animal ha ha ha

luckily these guys don't bite :) They do make a loud noise though!

Those darn things are deafing this time of year in Florida. So Loud it scares my kitty😉🐓

Nice photo! But I am afraid of it!

Cool! I don't think i have ever seen one., although I have heard plenty! Found you and Upvoted via SteemFollower!

Awesome, I just checked out SteemFollower this morning - glad it is already paying dividends :) Cicadas are definitely one of those bugs that are more commonly heard than seen, that is for sure, even in areas where they are common - and they are not common here in Oregon.

Thanks for the resteem - I am following you now :)

Thanks. I don't even know how SteemFollower works! I suppose I will figure it out sooner or later.

This post has received a 24.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @carlgnash. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 3.93 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @carlgnash.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

awesome capture ... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28