Flower Photography #5steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

✿ Apple Blossom Yarrow ✿

Scientific Name: Achillea millefolium

Also Known As: Apple Blossom Yarrow or "Cerise Queen"

I was surprised to see this pink yarrow in the white yarrow bed at my father in laws recently. I thought it would be similar to hydrangea blossoms, when the soil is Alkaline, with a pH above 7.0, the blossoms are pink and reddish, while more acidic promotes blue blossoms.

KMG_0485.JPG

After the amount of research I've done on these beauties, it seems as though they are simply their own variety of yarrow that is pink! Yarrow colors range from Yellow, Red, White, and Pink!!

yarrow blossoms.jpg

They can be considered invasive, but are easy to uproot with their shallow roots, a simple tug can usually pull the whole thing out. In more dense flower beds, a spade shovel may be needed to uproot, but is generally not the case.

KMG_0479.JPG

Not only are they beautiful to have around, they are used for their medicinal properties too! Everything above ground is used, you can make tea, commonly used for colds and fevers. Some people nibble on the leaves to relieve tooth aches as well!

KMG_0460.JPG

It should not be confused with Queens Anne's Lace or "wild carrot".

I am not an expert, this information should not be used for proper identifications. Please do your own research before dabbling with wild herbs for medicine.

I hope you like this post, all photos and content are mine from my own research and experiences. <3

More Original Flower Photography:

✿Sunflowers✿
✿Black Eyed Susan✿
✿Echium✿
✿Oxeye Daisy ✿

Sort:  

A perfect shooting method, make the target look beautiful and amazing.You are like a professional photographer, A pride to see your work, happy to feel it if you want to teach me. I will definitely maximize the knowledge you give, thank you.

thanks Marconah!! very kind words, I am not a professional but I try to be :P learning the full potential of your camera is key. Other than that, nature does the work for me, its already beautiful. New, and unique perspectives are key too!

Just awesome...

for more I am going to follow u dear..

Interesting article. Yarrow grows where I am...generally if the soil runs alkali the flowers are faintly tinged blue on the edges and, if I remember correctly, a hair pink in acid conditions.

interesting! I'd love to see tinged blue yarrow <3 One way I used to remember the alkaline-acid soil color change is because Blueberries love acid soil and they are blue =)

Ah...I remember it from Hydrangeas myself. It is relatively rare. I will keep an eye out for it but it has been some time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 61362.14
ETH 2643.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58